Ferry to Tallinn - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2015

Ferry to Tallinn

I got up in my hostel room in Helsinki, and took my time getting ready. After I had some breakfast, I took my stuff in 2 trips to the bike room and loaded up. I stopped by a gas station and added air to my tires. It's good to be up at a higher pressure than I had achieved with my pump in the Stockholm airport.

On my way to the ferry terminal, I stopped by a cemetery that I was told contains the graves of many famous Finnish people. It seemed to have graves from the mid-1800's to the present, and was quite pretty, but I didn't recognize any famous Finns. Not that I would expect to!

Cemetery with famous Finns in Helsinki.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I found the terminal, which was a different one than where I had arrived, and went back out to find an ATM. True to form, it started drizzling which turned to a heavy downpour. With a little searching, I found the ATM under the sign that said "Otto".   I laughed at myself, realizing that I had seen other Autos....err...Otto's.

Back at the ferry terminal, I went through the check-in with the cars, and was directed to an area with the motorcycles which had some protection from the rain. Yay!

Waiting with the motorcycles to board the ferry.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another couple showed up on bicycles, from Germany, and we had a nice chat. We were nearly the last to board, and it seemed like the line of cars and trucks went on forever.

That's the ferry. Arriving bicyclists are De-boarding.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

We arrived in Tallinn and I deboarded. I stopped almost immediately to take off my raincoat. The sun was out! I found my way to the old city and then to my hostel, where I again have a private room. The old city dates to the 14th century, as does my hostel. It's a small, friendly place. The shared bathroom facilities could use some improvement, but I suppose I should be glad that a place this old has indoor plumbing at all!

After checking in at the hostel, I wandered around the old town, found a bookstore and bought a bicycle map of Estonia, and then had a very nice dinner.

Tallinn old city.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Knight House Hostel, where I'm staying. It's the pale yellow building in the middle, next to the Georgia Tavern.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0