Day trip to Auschwitz - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2015

Day trip to Auschwitz

The day didn't start too well. I had set an alarm to get up early since I had an early tour booked, and also had to pack up so I could switch hotel rooms. Initially I had reserved 2 nights. It was comfortable and there is a lot to see, so I asked to extend one more night. They wouldn't match the rate I initially had, and I would need to switch rooms, but I decided that was okay.

So my alarm went off at 5:10, and I got up and turned on the light, which blew the circuit breaker. I stumbled around in the dark enough to make myself presentable, and went down to reception. The breaker box at the entry to my room didn't fix the problem. The receptionist said the technician would have to come in with the key to the distribution box, and he would be here after 7. I explained that I was leaving at 6:40 for the tour, and he sort of shrugged. So I went about packing in the dim light, and was wondering if I could get some hot water for coffee when the technician showed up. He didn't need a key, but did need to climb a ladder to another breaker box that was up high in the courtyard, where he fixed the problem. So I was able to boil some water and make breakfast, and could see to double check that I had everything packed.

It was a long ride to Auschwitz, especially as I was the first person picked up by the tour company, but the bus was comfortable. The site was crowded, even with our early departure from Krakow, but things were organized and kept moving. First we visited Auschwitz, and then Birkenau. I took some pictures of the signs, but not of the facilities or displays. Sometimes the camera gets in the way of actually seeing, and I didn't want that to happen here.

Auschwitz
Heart 0 Comment 0
My poor photography skills cut off the text. It was written in 24 languages on separate plaques, and says "For ever let this place be a cry of despair and a warning to humanity where the Nazis murdered about one and a half million men, women and children, mainly Jews from various countries of Europe."
Heart 0 Comment 0

Yes, it was emotionally draining. I'll leave my comments at that.

Back at the hotel, I got into my new room. It's nothing like the old one. It's a tiny little closet without a kitchen and without my beloved fan. I talked with reception. Nothing they can do. There isn't even a fan available. If they had explained that I would not get the same type of room. I would have gone someplace else, because this place is pretty noisy. I hear all of the announcements from the bus station, preceded by ding-ding-ding, and without the fan noise in competition it's especially annoying. The room is small enough so that the curtains hang over the bed, and there isn't room to move the bed out. I'll be glad to get out of the city tomorrow.

I've also had trouble arranging tickets to the Salt Mine, so I need to sort out what I'll do.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0