Budapest to Rackeve: Back on the road - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2015

Budapest to Rackeve: Back on the road

Jason dropped me off this morning between his classes in a very convenient location to pick up EuroVelo 6 (henceforth called EV6). I can't say enough about how well he and Kara treated me. I will always be grateful.

I found the route pretty quickly,

I found EV6 easily leaving Budapest.
Heart 0 Comment 0

but then lost it pretty quickly, too.

The traffic was bad and the road was bad. I've defined a new figure of merit, the road quality divided by the traffic density. It was way too close to zero, so I tried to find a better way.

I left the main road in the town of Halasztelek. There was supposed tobe an unpaved alternative road. I don't know if I found the intended alternative, but I ended up in terrible, deep sand. There were quite a few tracks through the sand, and none of them seemed good for riding. I slogged through it for a few kilometers before finding a way back to the main road, where traffic had thinned out considerably. I did find the route again before long. The ride was kind of grey, through some industrial areas with little scenery, despite the proximity to the Danube. The detour had sapped a lot of my energy and enthusiasm for the ride, and I decided to call it a day in Rackeve.

I ended up at a cheap hotel. It seemed okay when I registered. Then Iwent back to town and got some dinner. When I came back, there was a groupof men here who seem to be semi-permanent residents, perhaps a road orconstruction crew. There are shared bathrooms, and they were using thewomen's room to shower, and left a good inch (or should I say 2 and a half centimeters) of water on the floor. And they're really loud. Hopefully they'll be tired from work and call it a night early, so I can turn in early, too.

Watch out for wildlife.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 1,877 km (1,166 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0