Day 5: Millersburg to Massillon - Let’s tour Ohio… again - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2022

Day 5: Millersburg to Massillon

This was not how it was supposed to end

One of the most scenic scenes on a clear day is at the top of the highest climb in Wayne County
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a perfect late summer morning that gave a hint of the cooler autumn days ahead. It was a midwestern cyclist’s dream cycling weather, a cool morning that warmed to a sunny but not a hot day. I cycled out of the Millersburg Comfort Inn onto the Holmes County Trail heading north to Fredericksburg.

This is a trail familiar to me. I have cycled it for years and visit it many times a year. It is a unique rail trail. The double-width trail accommodates cyclists and pedestrians on one side while horses, buggies, and wagons travel on the opposite side. I am in the heart of Ohio’s Amish country and sharing the trail with the Amish. This trail connects Holmes County Amish with Millersburg, the county seat, and other Amish communities on a traffic-free route.

It was a peaceful early morning on the trail and a quick 10 miles of Fredericksburg, just across the county line in Wayne County. It was in Fredericksburg that my ride would take a drastic turn. My cycling partner had cycled ahead to use the restroom in the village’s park. I soon arrived at the park and waited for him in the parking lot. It turns out he was not in the restroom and had cycled ahead.

I mounted my bike and cycled toward the parking lot exit. I am knowledgeable about this parking lot and knew the exit I was heading to was closer to my route north. I was distracted when I turned onto the exit driveway. I immediately saw that the drive was closed with a yellow polypropylene rope. I braked but was unable to come to a stop fast enough.

The rope caught me under my armpits and held me back while the momentum of the bike pushed me forward. I was pulled off the bike and landed hard on the pavement. I was in pain and cursing at my behavior. I pulled myself up. As with any cyclist, I first surveyed my bike. It was OK. I had a newer summer weight cycling jacket. I was happy that it was not torn.

I mounted the bike and decided to grin and bear it to the ride’s next SAG stop, about eight miles away. Those eight miles were hilly with several of what I call MOFO (use your imagination) hills. I ached and groaned with each climb. Things were not OK with my right shoulder. I arrived at the SAG stop and sat for 15 minutes. I was determined to ride on but soon realized that I needed to SAG out.

I entered the SAG vehicle thinking I would just have the driver SAG me to the hotel. Common sense took over. I asked to be SAGed to the nearest urgent care. My diagnosis at the urgent care was what I expected but I hoped it would not be. I broke my right collarbone. My tour across Ohio was finished.

My sister-in-law drove me home. I saw an orthopedic surgeon the following day. I had indeed made a mess of my collarbone. It was broken into 4-5 pieces that looked like pick-up sticks on the x-ray. I am undergoing surgery this coming Monday. Recovery will take several months.

Sad state of my collarbone
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am disappointed. I am disappointed that I was so careless. I am disappointed that I could not complete my fourth ride across Ohio. I am disappointed my cycling is done for the year. I am disappointed that I cannot complete my sixth tour across the Chesapeake and Ohio canal Trail and Great Allegheny Passage that was scheduled with three friends in three weeks.

This I how it ends not how I wanted it to end.

Right arm in the sling. At least I am left-handed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Quote of the Day

Ouch! That must hurt. – Overhead from the X-ray tech at urgent care
Today's abruptly shortened route
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tom’s Miles 

  •  Today: 18
  • On the tour: 128

Today's Trivia

The Holmes County Amish community is the second largest Amish settlement in the United States with Lancaster, Pennsylvania being the largest. There are four main Amish affiliations, and at least 11 distinct Amish groups represented in this community, from the Swartzentruber Amish to the New Order churches. Holmes County is the “most Amish” county in the nation, with over 40% of those living in the county belonging to a horse-and-buggy Amish church.

Follow the Tour  

No need to jump on a train or canal boat as I pedal the tracks of steam locomotives and canal boats across the Buckeye State. You can just check me out on social media at Cycle Blaze and Instagram with hashtags  #OH2Erie and #Moffitt22. 

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 239 miles (385 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauSorry to read about your injury. Even before seeing your quote of the day, I thought the same exact thing. Take care of that shoulder and hopefully you'll heal quicker than expected.

By the way, getting clotheslined off one's bike isn't as unusual as you might think. It's happened to me twice--one of those times was in the past year. Luckily, I only suffered embarrassment and some minor soreness.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamI am so sorry that this is the way you had to end your tour early. Do take care and heal well. More riding is in front of you to enjoy when you are well and able. Thanks for the journal as far as you could go.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago