Heading out of Cuenca for Peru? - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2022

Heading out of Cuenca for Peru?

After a lot of heart-ache, one day I packed up my bike and hit TEMBR heading towards Loja/Peru. The TEMBR by Cuenca doesn't go straight but goes around in a big loop through the mountains before crossing Pan-American highway. Non-TEMBR distance to this point would be some half to one third of what you actually do on TEMBR and almost no elevation gain. But, TEMBR is TEMBR. By the end of it, you would want to hate it but will end up loving it.

Anyways, I cycled almost 5 hours that day and got to this broken puente with no way to cross the rio other than walking through propiedad privado. By this time it was 3pm and I decided to head back to Cuenca as it was only 45-minutes Non-TEMBR way.

One of the best murals. I like it both for it's primary goal but also the secondary..
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back in familiar Cuenca, I spent more painful days again debating the direction I should head. During this time I explored more of the mercados for morochos, humitas, chibils and other authentic but food a vegetarian like me can eat.

So I spent a few more painful days in Cuenca before making the call and headed back on TEMBR to Ruben's farm. 

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 1,521 miles (2,448 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0