Day 11 of week 3 on TEMBR - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

September 5, 2022 to September 9, 2022

Day 11 of week 3 on TEMBR

Ingapirca (9990 ft) to Charon Ventanas (10,500 ft):

Having survived two days of scare in the mountains, we got up late probably because were still recovering but also because it was raining hard and we had no intention to get wet again. We tried to visit Ingapirca ruinas but found out that they are closed on lunes y martes.

I vascillated between riding to Cuenca and taking a rest day there in Ingapirca. Finally I hit the road by around 2pm. After the initial 5-6 kms of paved road, TEMBR took us on an old railroad where the tracks still exist. It was very muddy and a few time my shoes went in  past my ankles. Thank God, I wasn't wearing socks as I was still drying them from previous day. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

At one point the road just ended again due to a huge derrumbe. I hauled my bike on shoulder only to encounter uncooperative cows and horses. After a few more detours, I was back on TEMBR.

Finally I was beginning to enjoy this colder but a good biking day.

I had passed Charon Ventanas Alto and was cruising down this dirt, muddy road when a Toyota Hilux pulled over and the driver started asking where I was from and where I was headed. Trying to practice my Spanish, I explained my journey and destination for today.

After hearing me, he said I could stay at his farmhouse close-by while he lives in Biblian with his family. I was apprehensive but after more chatting and some pictures, I decided to accept his generosity. Instead of money he requested that I help him put his place up on Airbnb.

Heart 2 Comment 0

What a life-changing experience that was. I ended up staying in his farmhouse for 4 nights. His "farmhouse" sits on top of a mountain overlooking the valley. He's hand built most of the house, the unique furnitures and more.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

He and his wife, Nube would come every day to take care of their 8 cows and the farm. During the day time, I worked with them on the farm and in the evening, I'd sit and enjoy the sunset and contemplate after they had returned to their home in Biblian.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I finished setting up his Airbnb profile the very first day. Then I worked with him as he was trying to get the dirt road that leads to the farmhouse completed. So we'd collect huge rocks, wooden logs to fill/stuff part of the dirt road that's too soft. It's.a beautiful experience getting to use my hands, whole body for hard labor after having spent years pipetting and such.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's hard labor and every night I got great sleep. If I was looking for an authentic, hard working Ecuadorian family then this was it.

In the morning, Nube and Ruben would milk the 8 cows by hand after their milking machine was stolen during covid times. This would be repeated again in the evening.

Working with Ruben yielded instant gratification while the work I did over the past 15-years rarely gave me such joy. It paid well but no physical/emotional satisfaction while this back-breaking work somehow accomplished that. 

I ended up spending a few more days here, working with Ruben and his family. Truth be told, they including the 5-year old did more work than I. And, Ruben kept saying that I could stay, work, learn with him as long as I wanted.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I finally left Ruben's farm on 9th morning, which's some 4 days later. I rode some 30-miles of TEMBR and got to Cuenca.

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,492 miles (2,401 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0