The Space Lazerz Are Melting Down - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2023

The Space Lazerz Are Melting Down

DAY NINETEEN 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Up and at em from the cot. Yesterday took a toll and I’m dropping my feet and groggy. 2 coffees and a banana later I’m feeling springy and neat. I’ve decided that I’m going to watch an episode of Ancient Apocalypse in this garage hostel and eat lunch at Kahunas on my way out. They open at 1030 so I bank some AC and a bench to type. I’m doing this on my phone and I have a love/ hate relationship with it. Now I have to hear Love Minus Zero and stare at this tree…

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got The Big Kahuna burger and yes, mmmhmm, that is a tasty burger. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

It’s uphill out of here and my body panics at remembering. The road levels out as I cut NE. This  side of the 140 is opposites to the W side. It’s quiet and serene on the black top with corn curtains ushering me onstage from the front row of Fanchon. Eventually I find the 40 and a road closed sign I skirt around. The crew waives my to the side I can pass on and I have a mile or two with no traffic until I swing into a Walmart for more sunscreen. I’m not even out yet, very adult. I buy and eat a non ripe peach because I want it to be ripe so badly.

The weather is scorching and the last 8 miles are melting me as I pull up to Okaw Valley Kampground. This place is super cycling friendly and I recommend staying here definitely. Clean everything including the pool. 

Barb at the desk is super polite as my sweaty fingers clutch towards a writing pen. The ink smears and less information becomes required. An offer to do it for me, respectful and honest. This place is going to be ok. The electronic receiver units face clicks to 100° from 99 as I look up. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

I’m showered and set up. I absolutely know it’s going to rain tonight but I don’t know how much. I watch heat lightning spiderweb across the western sky. It illuminates only the bulking clouds for the brief flash and then the darkness rolls towards me invisible again.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Holy shit the storm is punishing. Rain showers fall mercilessly in thick sheets of whiplash winds. Finally the rain puddles and wicks through the rainshield and I’m now dripping a couple inches out from both door peaks. The days shirt mops quickly under the white light of my headlamp. 

The tent comes in hard from the W and nearly folds as I hear the low thunderous approach of the next wave. The wind pushes from the E just as hard and after I hold against it I put my shoes on and prepare to run for the storm room. A blast of fine mist is sprinkling down from the tent and I check the radar again. Almost over. I’m shaken but not stirred and I remove the shoes. I hear a train in the distance  growl across the land and I’m anxious for the whistle to be sure.

The  neighbor seems to be packing her car to head for higher ground as I drift away to sleep. That was the worst storm I’ve ever been through in a tent.

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 770 miles (1,239 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0