Fireproof Tenting and the Cops that want to Burn it Down - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2023

Fireproof Tenting and the Cops that want to Burn it Down

DAY FIVE 

Heart 0 Comment 0

N central Indiana definitely has some quiet roads. The fields roll by with the bluest of skies above and a soft horizon in every direction. Here I will find only what is needed. The occasional bait and tackle shop has water and empty calories and the corner church has shady trees and a spot to rest. The road carries on and on breaking into fine, smooth pavement and then back to chip and seal, fresh with oil that burns my nose. The day has a surreal feeling to it. I have everything charged up from last night’s hotel so I turn on some music and relax.

This route brings me to the N Judson Erie trail but before I jump on I head to a little store I noticed called JKs Imports Groceries and Deli.  The reviews all mention a Polish sausage and they are correct. The sausage is perfectly seasoned with just the right amount of spice. I wolf it down with an ice cold gatorade and chat up the employees as they come outside to smoke cigarettes. They are kind and even though they tell me they can’t fill my water bottles because of a health code they hand me free bottled water and ask if I need more. The other customers buy gas here, one of the few places I see it’s available for miles. Huge dump style trucks grind to a halt and yell at the people in front of the place. Everyone is laughing and indulging themselves on deli food, soda and cigarettes. I head for the trail.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The Judson trail is pretty. There are interesting obstacles placed at every intersection to enter the trail. I ride through with plenty of ease and wonder if this stuff stops the four wheelers and snow mobiles. The trail is desolate and I ride almost the entire stretch without seeing another person. There is a really cool signage project that shows the distance between planets in scale. The clouds are toying with me, dropping huge sporadic rain drops and then fleeing into the open sky behind me. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

In N Judson I pop into the Subway just as the rain really falls. It only lasts for 1/2 a sub and a bag of chips before I’m back to pedaling. My goal is to hit a campground that is listed on the ACA map. The problem is when I call the phone number it says disconnected and on google it shows permanently closed. Oh no! I’m going to check it out and see if I can still find a way to make it work.

I couldn’t. The place is strongly signed with do not enters and no trespassing. There’s a house on the property that there’s no way I’m getting by unnoticed. Ugh. I’m just looking to pitch a tent and everywhere I go is private property and purple blazed trees. 

I’m on to the next town. It’s getting late and there’s nowhere to hide so I go to the local fire station. The VFD has been my friend and helping hands many a time. These guys generally know their town because they’re local. Most police officers don’t live where they work. Boom! The fire guys are super cool. They make recommendations and as we discuss possibilities I let them know I’d prefer if the PD knew where I was. I’m not doing anything shady so whatever. Well, we call them to the firehouse using the radio. 

Now, I’m not trying to make anyone’s day harder but these guys take forever to come to a decision and that decision is for me to ride out of their jurisdiction to an all night hunting reserve that is maybe 5 or 6 miles away. It’s 8pm and I protest. The VFDs finally suggest the patch of grass behind the station and the cops shrug and say alrighty then. I’m given a bunch of water and apple sauce and a chance to use the restroom before I retire to my bedroom behind the building. I eat, I drink, I sleep. And when I think about my day, I’m happy to be here and I like to think I always leave ’em smiling!

Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 261 miles (420 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0