Ochoco Lake Campground to Mitchell - A Missing Link - CycleBlaze

Ochoco Lake Campground to Mitchell

Today is what bike touring is all about.  I slept more or less okay and had nice chat with Dave and Gary over breakfast and was off before it got to hot.

I had a healthy respect for the climb to Mitchell.  Not because anyone said it was unusually difficult but because it's only day 2 and I am not sure about how the old legs are gunna feel.  As it turns out the grade was pretty tame, with only a few little kicks.  It was long though.

About 3 miles from the top there was a bench with ice water put out by a Christian "Center" who appeared to be doing things like summer camp.  I'm not a big christian type myself but I appreciated the christian water.

From there is was 3.5 miles from the top and I knew I would make it just fine.

I kept expecting Dave and Gary to pass me but they never did, which probably means they got a late start more than me climbing fast.

It was also clear that drivers are used to cyclists around here.  They gave me TONS of room while riding!  Even the trucks and RV's were great.  In a couple narrow spots I pulled over to give them room and they gave me thank you waves and honks.  I like the spread the road karma love when possible.  It only takes 20 seconds to stop.  I don't do that all the time but in certain sections it makes life easier for everyone.

The scenery was magnificent on both the ascent and subsequent descent.  Once over the top it looked more desert like, a little like Utah and Nevada, with temperatures to match and I was happy to teach Mitchell before the real heat set in.

I stopped at the "Spoke and Hostel" hostel that lodges cyclists and found the single room was available.  Score!

I unloaded my stuff, took a shower and chatted with Serena, who was helping to run the place today.

"We are one of the hosts for the upcoming cross-country race, not the race that starts June 1st but the newer gravel race to Washington D.C.  But I hope they cancel or postpone it because it's going to be dangerously hot in the next week or two," she said.

I mentioned that I doubt they would cancel a cross-country race for people trained to do that sort of long distance endurance stuff, though what do I know.

I had never heard of the race before this but I had heard about the heat.  But I didn't dwell on it, and instead got my dirty laundry done and took a nap, which wasn't so much a sleeping nap as a chill without sleeping nap, which is nice too after a hot day in the saddle...

....after which I headed over to the local pub for dinner and a chat with some riders from Oregon who were out on a week-long trip, but I'll get to that in my next entry.

The main thing to remember now is that it was a great day on the bike!

(Pictures soon)

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 81 miles (130 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0