Mitchell to Dayville - A Missing Link - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2022

Mitchell to Dayville

On one of the many D-Day documentaries I saw through the years a US army vet who stormed Omaha beach said after that battle, and the subsequent battles he experienced during The War was so bad that his entire life after that was one of little worry.    “I didn't worry about things like losing money in the stock market or other life things people worry about, because at least I am alive and no one is shooting at me.”

That's my mantra for today.  After day 1 wondered if I would be shattered, on day 2 and I got my answer…

Though overcast, the scenery from Mitchell to Dayville was beautiful but the climb out of Mitchell was brutal, mostly, I think because I was still shattered physically from day 1.  

I rolled into Dayville and had lunch with Tim and John, the UK blokes, and had planned to roll on to the state park at Mount Vernon.  But I was also really tired to decided to rest at the Dayville Community Church which host cyclists.  But when I got there, and while Cindy and Skip were showing me around I noticed little flashes of light and more floaters than normal in my right eye.

They called the town EMT.  She came and looked me over a bit and offered me to drive me to the hospital in John Day which I would have done but the small hospital has no eye doctor or eye doctor equipment.  On the phone the regular doc said its most likely dehydration if I have no other symptoms, which I do not.

Now, the next day, the flashes are gone but the floaters are still there.  And since it is raining, and I am a bit demoralized, I just stayed put in this little church, along with 2 cycling Swedes who are taking s rest day.

There is an eye doc in John Day so I might get over there tomorrow and see if I can get an appointment on Monday to confirm its nothing more serious like a detached retina, which I doubt but better safe than sorry.

I also can’t get my pictures off my camera to post but that is another issue.

But hey, at least I am alive and no one is shooting at me.  I have a warm place to stay, I can rest and hydrate and decide next steps.  Plus, being demoralized is usually temporary with me. 

I would have preferred more sun but the clouds created drama
Heart 0 Comment 0
Westbound Rider
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0



Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 233 miles (375 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Keith AdamsHi Karen

Sorry to read you are struggling so soon. Hope you can get past it quickly.

The support and encouragement shown to me in my moments of doubt have been a real buoy and help, so I'm hoping this will have the same benefit for you.

Besides, I have a vested interest in seeing you succeed: I need those advance scouting reports.

All kidding aside, do take care of yourself and be mindful of the messages your body is trying to give. Hope the extra rest day does the trick.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookHi Keith,

Thanks. I will do my best! ☺️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Genny FoxHi Karen,
I am enjoying your journal. Your eye symptoms sound exactly like something I experienced a year or two ago and my better half experienced about a year before that. The eye doc said it was tearing of the vitreous humor (the gelatinous substance that fills the posterior of the eye) away from the retina and that it was common in older folks and the symptoms go away over time (like over a couple years in my case.) It is not dangerous. Probably a good idea to have it checked to be sure but likely it is not something to worry about too much. Safe travels!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookHi Genny,

Thanks so much! I think that makes the most sense but I am going to have an eye doctor look at it Monday. Better safe than sorry. Plus that way I wont be thinking about and worrying. 👍

Karen
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesSo frustrating just when you were getting going again. You never seemed to me to do demoralized for long. I’m glad you’re taking a pause to take care of yourself. Hopefully Genny is right and that it’s nothing that will keep you from continuing. Sending brain waves of tech support too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookTo Genny FoxHi Genny,

Are you saying your floaters went away?

Karen
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Genny FoxHi Karen,
The flashes have almost completely gone away. The floaters remain but I had lots of floaters before the happened and they don’t bother me much.
Sorry that you are going home but better safe than sorry.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago