John Day — Aye Eye - A Missing Link - CycleBlaze

John Day — Aye Eye

The eye doctor was amazing.  I was standing outside his office 5 minutes before they opened, at 7:55am, and 10 minutes later he was dilating my eyeballs.

The verdict is what I expected—no torn retina just old age.

When I asked about continuing the trip he basically said that if this is a life's dream I can but to take it easy, and to make a follow up eye appointment with my doctor at home in 4 weeks.  

Well I won’t even be home in 4 weeks and I am not sure how to take it easy on this route with steep climbs and long distances between towns.  Plus my eye seems more tired than normal and I need to make mental adjustments to these new floaters 😣.  I think I need to follow doctors, and common sense, and head home and rest up.

The fact that Yellowstone is closed makes the decision easier.  That was a main reason for doing this trip.  So this just seems like the logical thing to do.

Part of me is intensely disappointed but the wise old lady part of me, who has endured worse disappointments in this life, is shrugging my shoulders and moving on.

My brother is heading up in the car with Wags to pick me up and we may do some site seeing on the way home.  I can’t wait to see my dog! (And my brother 😬)

Sorry I didn’t get very far again.  When I get home I will check my cameral for new pictures to post.

Picture of Wags from my brother at their hotel room tonight. They will drive the rest of the way tomorrow. 🥰🐶
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Keith AdamsSorry to hear you're pulling the plug but it does seem the best and most sensible alternative. The Yellowstone thing just reinforces the idea.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesSounds like the best plan. That Yellowstone closure is crazy, and it just wouldn’t be worth seeing right now. I look forward to you restarting this journal again. Third time’s a charm they say.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingBummer, but any health related matter must be taken seriously, especially eye sight.
I look forward to your next ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookTo Mike AylingHi Mike,

Thanks. I agree. In my younger days I might have kept going but I am smarter now ;-)

Karen
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookTo Kathleen JonesHi Kathleen,

Thanks. I think I am going to close out this journal, maybe it's the journal that's bad luck ;-). But that doesn't mean I can't make another attempt at some point. :-)

Karen
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookTo Keith AdamsThanks, Keith. I have gotten sensible in my old age, which sucks a bit but is probably for the best ;-).

Safe travels!

Karen
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonI’m sorry for you and for us, but it’s obviously the wise thing to do. I had a scare like this of my own a few years back and was sure I’d suffered a torn retina somehow, but an exam turned up no concerns and the condition cleared on its own fairly quickly. Good luck!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookThanks, Scott. Yeah it was pretty bizarre that's for sure. Getting old sucks, eh!? ;-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago