It’s Go Time - A Missing Link - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2021

It’s Go Time

Today was just about a perfect Day 1.  Usually I have high expectations and push too hard, feeling trashed and miserable by days end before feeling it the rest of the week.  This time I set low expectations.  What’s the rush?

I rode from Redmond to the state park about 8 miles past Prineville by way of Terrebone with pretty scenery, polite drivers (most of them) and an afternoon at a great bike shop, which I mention in part because they deserve a little free advertisement.

I’m talking about ThemGood Bike bike shop in Prineville.  I would have bought something but I didnt need anything.  Still, they had a cooler of cold water, which I drank while they let me wallow in the heat, eating my tuna sandwich, before checking out why my bike computer wasn’t working, all for free.  Then we talked about bikes and local rides.  I wasted a lot of their time.

So next time you are in the area and need something bike related check them out.

I lallygagged into the campground around 5pm and met Dave and Gary, the brother team doing a loop ride but with extensive touring experience all over the world.  We had no trouble filling the time with conversation that would probably only interest cyclists.   Not to mention great showers and a decent hiker biker site!

It was a great day.

Tomorrow is Ochoco summit.  Not sure how the legs will feel but I am game.  From there I will see how I feel with destination unknown.

Until then...

Image not found :(
Not more dog reminders! ;-)
Heart 3 Comment 0
Aaaawwww. Cute!
Heart 3 Comment 0
And even cuter!
Heart 6 Comment 0
My first destination.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Donna WMYou were in Terrebonne, and this is your photo?? Where is Smith Rock??? 😑
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Pretty scenery on the way to Prineville
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bike shop in Prineville
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bike shop sign
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice campsite
Heart 5 Comment 1
Scott AndersonIt is a nice campsite. Rachael and I tented here 33 years ago, on our first biking overnight together.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 36 miles (58 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0