My intended route - The Middle of Sweden - CycleBlaze

My intended route

The broad plan - more major roads than the ones I cycled on have been selected here
Heart 0 Comment 0

700 miles over 12 days seemed doable. Taking a full rest day at lake Siljan, I would need to average about 65 miles a day. I'd already done two shakedown weekend trips fully loaded with kit, making 80 and 95 miles respectively. In my current state, it looked challenging, but not impossible.

Over a few days I worked out a more detailed route, and started to find interesting places I could stay and visit along the way. From Trelleborg I would cross the fertile farmland of Skane on the first day, getting to the more deeply wooded region north of Lund and the Soderasen national park. From there I would make my way to the large lake of Bolmen and the island of Bolmso, home to Sweden's longest cable ferry. From there, one long day would take me through sparsely populated forests, past the magic mountain of Taberg to the comparative metropolis of Jonkoping on the shores of lake Vattern. I would cut between the great lakes, and then work North up the lake system that drains in Vanern.

After two nights in the wilderness, I would emerge at Lake Siljan and its resort towns of Leksand and Mora. After a rest day would come the sketchiest part, where there were fewest settlements and my maps were most unclear - two days across nearly empty terrain to the South West, crossing increasingly higher peaks until I crossed the Norwegian frontier. From here I could follow the broad river Glomma all the way to Oslo.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0