Janet’s Story week 2 - The Metal Hip Club attempt the Northern Tier. - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2021 to June 13, 2021

Janet’s Story week 2

Day 7

Loup Loup Pass - not as bad as Washington Pass but it amazes me how long it takes to climb these passes. I know I stop a lot,  but most times just a few minutes. The climb took me 3.5 hours to go 10 miles with a constant uphill grade of 4-6%

When you’re in the easy granny gears you are moving pretty slow! And it was not fun having the need of a bathroom for at least the last 5 miles. Very happy when we found a pit toilet (sometimes pit toilets are a good thing!) before the descent!

Downhill was torture of a different kind. The storm moved in quickly as we were leaving the pit toilet. Snow pelted us. I had put my gloves on earlier because it was getting cold. I put my hood up under my helmet which turned out to help a lot! Flying downhill on wet roads on a bicycle in the pouring snow/rain mix was not fun. Gripping the brakes for miles is difficult.  We came around a corner after miles of shivering downhill and there was an unexpected uphill. Straight up, maybe half mile, but my legs (along with other parts of me) were screaming “no flippin  way!!”  I didn’t make it far before I stopped to rest. I was afraid I couldn’t get back on and peddling the bike without falling, so walk I did. I think I walked about a quarter mile before getting back on and making the rest of the climb. It continued uphill but not as steep for another half mile before leveling out and then downhill some more. By the time we got to the hotel I was not feeling well. I started with sneezing and runny nose. Had a beer and took a very long, hot shower and continued with sneezes and runny nose. We went to a Mexican restaurant for dinner and I barely made it thru dinner - I just wanted to go to bed. Terry and Ross stopped and got Tylenol cold for me and I took some and was out for the night…

Day 8

Got a good nights rest and woke up without a head cold. Guess it was a “day cold”, strange, but happy! I’m not sure why, but my legs and ankles have been swollen since day 2 and it is really irritating. I get swollen ankles a lot (kankles), but they usually disappear overnight. This is not going away and it’s up to my knees. Ross thinks I need to drink more water…

I wasn’t very hungry so just some yogurt and coffee for breakfast since it was only 6 miles to breakfast. My new hip has started bothering me which concerns me a bit. I need to get out of these passes and give it a break. For now, Tylenol extra strength is my friend. We didn’t leave until 11 and after we had biked 8 miles I asked Terry where the restaurant was. I missed the update on the route - to get a less uphill route we detoured and it was 12 miles to the restaurant. Oops… Yogurt was long gone by the time lunch came.

Then back to Hwy 20. Noisy, gradual climbs with gradual downs. Short day of 30 miles but the campground was not what I was expecting. A port-o-potty for the bathroom ☹️ but, grassy ground for the tents!

We walked to a bar & grill that was closed. Legs are sooo tired. Walked back to a Mexican restaurant across from the campground. Mexican 2 nights in a row should be interesting.

Going to bed early…

Day 9

Wauconda Pass today. Up early - sprinklers in the grassy area come on at 8 so we need to be packed up and outta there. The grocery store across the street opened at 8 and had breakfast sandwiches and coffee, so that was a good start. We picked up some snack foods too. We headed out of town and of course started climbing right away. Did I mention before that I really hate not being able to warm up before starting to climb. This climb turned into 5 miles of uphill before leveling out for just a little before climbing more. I got a knot/cramp in my calf that I could not get worked out and it was painful! I kept drinking my electrolytes and ate some trail mix which helped a little, but it remained for hours until we stopped for lunch. Lots of logging trucks today and the shoulder was non existent for quite some time. I really get wobbly when semis go by, so when I’d hear them coming I’d stop and hug the guard rail until they passed. At one point I was stopped trying to convince myself to keep going, and I hear this bell ringing. I looked at the house in the distance and there was a guy ringing one of those triangles. I laughed and waved and he waved back and I got on my bike and peddled on.  Another long climb to the pass. Ross has been going up on his own and Terry sticks with me. I know they would be riding together and making it to the destination much quicker if it wasn’t for me, but I keep telling myself “it’s the journey, not the destination”.

Day 10

Rest day. Not originally planned as a rest day. I was all ready to go and came out of the bathroom to Terry and Ross saying “how about a rest day?” My hip was hurting and my legs ankles and feet were swollen and I’d had a bad nights sleep so I was very much onboard for a rest day. We had a lazy morning, went and had breakfast, sat around the hotel for a bit and then did some grocery shopping for the next day and night for camping. I also picked up some smart wool running socks that were above my ankles to help with getting the swelling down.

Then we went to the brewery and had beers. We also talked with our son Rylan and our daughter Robyn. Always a highlight of my week!

After dinner we went back to the hotel and I got a great nights sleep. Happy!

Day 11

Sherman Pass - not as bad as the other passes - maybe I’m getting used to this? Nah, I think I just knew it was the last one for awhile so I was more optimistic. It still took me 4 hours to do the 17 miles from Republic to the top of the pass, but there were places where the grade was not as bad as others. But those darn logging trucks are a royal pain! I also get frustrated with being cold, then hot, then back to cold. Coming down the pass was frigid! A few snow pellets that changed to rain drops but no down pours. My feet and pinkie fingers were frozen. But, the sun came back and all was good. Still pretty country! I’m hoping with another good nights sleep, tomorrow will be another good day!

Day 12

Great night’s sleep!  We took our time getting out of camp - left just before 10. And again, we climb right away. Have I mentioned, ah, never mind. After the lengthy initial climb it was a fairly nice ride to Colville. Terry mentioned how nice it was to not have to stop and rest all the time. But then we left Colville. I think I said “oh $&@!” at least 6 times where I’d come around a curve and see a climb. And then it was getting late and looking like rain and Terry was pushing on. He doesn’t like getting in late to our destination and I was struggling trying to keep up. The last 13miles were probably the best of the 59 we rode today. More downhill than uphill and my legs seemed to finally kick in.

Rough day done and putting thoughts of quitting away until tomorrow.

Day 13

Didn’t sleep that good last night but every little bit helps!  I have been ready to call it quits several times - yesterday was one of those days.  I know I have to wait a day before saying it out loud because the next day will probably be ok, and it was…

Finally a day that doesn’t start uphill! 35 miles to Usk for lunch was a bit too far without a good breakfast - I was very hangry! My saddle sores hurt, my legs are tired, I hate complaining all the time. I can’t wait until the day I don’t have anything to complain about! 

We got to the campground and the camp host said we could camp on her site since the campground was full. Very nice but again, pit toilet only.

Day 14

I like camping, I prefer my camper, but tent camping is fine if I have a bathroom with a flushing toilet and a sink. I don’t necessarily even need a shower every time, but I am soon to be 63 years old and I think I’m past the roughing it days. That being said, I’m sure there’s more days ahead with pit toilet camping…

A shorter day today, lots of ups and downs, but the legs are recovering somewhat. Saddle sores are still wicked ☹️ Tonight we are in a hotel in Sandpoint, so it’s laundry time and out to dinner. Maybe even an adult beverage or 2 for an early birthday celebration 😊

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Paul KriegFor what it is worth........

What I found helpful for preventing cramps is a product by Rainbow Light called "Magnesium Calcium + "; Is available on Amazon and Ebay and I have even seen it at Whole Foods. Being on a bike all day uses up a lot of both magnesium and calcium. Magnesium is also helpful with sleep. On tour, you burn many calories when you sleep while your muscles and system recover from the day of riding. If you find a vitamin shop somewhere along the way, you could always purchase these items individually. The ratio that works for me is Calcium = 1, Magnesium = 2, i.e. 500mg Calcium and 1000 mg Magnesium. On tour, I take three (3) [1500mg Calcium and 3000 mg Magnesium] each in the a.m. and repeat in the evening. Go easy on the amounts at first until you figure out what works for you. I am 6'1" and weigh 230 pounds.

Another supplement I take AND take with me on tour is Flax Seed oil. I get the variety that comes in 1000 mg gel caps. 4 to 5 (4000 to 5000 mg) in the am and 4 to 5 (4000 to 5000mg) in the evening helps me a lot with inflammation (sunburn) in general and muscle inflammation in particular. I ride a recumbent, so, I am unable to say if it would help with saddle sores.

Being 68, my "get up and go" had "got up and went" until I discovered L-Arginine amino acid. One (1) 500mg capsule and I am good for the day, and that is when I am NOT touring. I take this ONLY in the afternoon after I have gotten to my destination. On the first day of my short tour, I took some just before I left, and it acted like a diuretic. I had to stop about every 3 to 5 miles to pee. The pedal time that day was about 4 1/2 hours, and it seemed the supplement had worked itself out of my system in that amount of time. I did not drink much water at all on that day, because it was so cool, and I still had to make all those stops.

When getting to the higher altitudes (above 5000 feet), I find baby aspirin helps. Once upon a time, altitude did not bother me much, but when I got past 64 years, the altitude tends to really take the wind out of me. Taking one baby aspirin a day at high altitude helped me out a bunch.

As to the ACA maps, in 2015 when I last used them, I found them accurate only regarding the names of the towns, finding your way thru and the distance between. Everything else was "take under advisement". Sending in updates was such a royal pain in the rear, it became very clear why the maps are so out of date. ACA wants ALL of your personal information (with no guarantee they will not sell it to a third party) before they will deign to accept your update information. After the Covid situation put so many small businesses in the grave, expect the maps to be even more out of date.

The least toxic sunscreen I have found is a spray on type called KinEsys (spf 50). You may not need sun screen so much at the moment, but as you go east that will change.

Another suggestion I made recently to another cross country rider is in regard to keeping your water cool throughout the day: Find some ankle length white socks and pull them over your water bottles. At the start of the day, soak the socks with water, and then, throughout the day, keep the socks wet and the evaporative process will help keep the water in the bottles cool. The sock will also slow down the direct sunlight warming up the water in the bottles. In a dry climate, I found I had to re-wet the bottles every 5 to 7 miles. It does not take much water to re-wet the socks, but it keeps that water in the bottles cool. The socks make the fit of the water bottle a bit tighter in the cage, but not overly much. I have seen white, ankle length socks at Dollar General.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Janet OBrienTo Paul KriegSorry for the delay in replying to your comment. I wanted to thank you for all the information! I’m still working my way to a solution, but always good to have recommendations. And I have read about the water bottle cooling method before!

Janet
Reply to this comment
2 years ago