Janet’s Story Week 11 - The Metal Hip Club attempt the Northern Tier. - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2021 to August 15, 2021

Janet’s Story Week 11

New York

Dunkirk to Grand Island

Day 71 Monday, August 9

Today is hot. We know it’s supposed to be in the 90’s with a heat index in the 100’s. We get started at our normal time as of late and go about 12 miles before stopping for breakfast and bathroom break. Right before we were stopping we had a slight uphill where Terry hit a decent size rock that kicked back and hit me right on the knee, hard enough to stop me. It will be bruised, but still functional. We made it to Buffalo in the heat of the day. Took quite a few breaks to escape the heat a bit, including a Tim Hortons stop! Finally I get my 1st Tim Hortons experience. Good stuff!

A large portion of the day was on bike paths, and Ross does an excellent job of getting us where we need to be. We had lunch at a place near the bottom of the bridge that would take us onto Grand Island and the Branches campground for the night. We stopped on the bridge to enjoy the view and take pictures and then on to the campground. It is very hot and no breeze, with lots of mosquitoes. The campground is nice and we do get a shaded spot, but the night will be hot…

Day 72 Tuesday, August 10

New York 

Grand Island to Lewiston 

A short day! It was just a 20 mile ride today with lots of touristy sights. It was a nice leisurely day, but hot. So glad we were done early. I had a bit of a spill again - I’m calling it a failure to mount, but on the failed dismount I twisted my knee. It’s feeling better tonight, so hoping all will be well tomorrow.

Day 73 Wednesday, August 11

New York

Lewiston to Brockport 

Much better sleep last night! A few times when I rolled over , my knee would twinge, but when I got up it felt ok. When we started riding it hurt a bit until I got warmed up, but then it was good to go. It was another hot and sticky day. The wind was behind us mostly, which isn’t as cooling, but I’m not complaining!  The crushed rock trail was good with the wind at our backs. Our stops today allowed me to get ice in my water bottles, so I enjoyed nice cold water all day. The last 15 miles I had to stop in the shade about every 5 miles to cool down and have more water. It was a long day having cycled 64 miles, and getting into Brockport around 5. A stop for a beer at a brewery on the canal was great, followed by an Italian dinner and a difficult 1.5 miles to the hotel 😬

Day 74 Thursday, August 12

New York 

Brockport to Newark 

Guess what? Another hot and sticky day. We were riding on the trail along the Erie Canal all day again, so that was good. There’s occasional steep parts on the trail, just short little ones. I tend not to shift much with those. When the hill is a bit longer I’ll shift more and it’s better for my knees and legs that way. It was a 57 mile day today and we finished around 2:30. I’m looking forward to some cooler days!!

Day 75 Friday, August 13

New York

Newark to Fair Haven

Hot again. A short day of just over 40 miles but no longer on the trail. That means hills again. The hotel just had cereal for breakfast so we stopped at the gas station next door to get food.  We were on the road around 8. I take it slow and work my way through the gears on the hills and concentrate on breathing 😬

We had a few granny hills today and a few longer hills that weren’t granny type. Most had good downhills too which helped cool me off. We got to Fair Haven around 11:30 and decided since we were camping that we would go to a winery first. It opened at noon and we stayed until 3:30 or so. We had lunch and of course wine and waited out the possible afternoon storms. It thundered a bit and rained pretty good for just a short time and then we were on our way. Of course there was an uphill climb to the campground. 😩 It was sweltering after the rain. We got to the campground and to our site where no wind was moving and we were all dripping wet. We set up camp and showered. Hoping for a cool down overnight.

Day 76 Saturday, August 14

New York

Fair Haven to Port Ontario 

Since we had a short miles day today, Terry said to go back to sleep when I woke up the 1st time. And again when I woke up the 2nd time. With the bad nights sleep that I’d gotten, it was good to sleep more. I was still up around 7.  We got to a restaurant nearby for breakfast around 9 and on the road by 10. More hills today. The grades are a bit steeper again on a few, but granny helps me through. It wasn’t as hot today, so that was really nice. Only in the 70’s. We got to the state park around 2:30 and had ice cream at a place across from the park entrance.

Camping again tonight and hoping the party animals are not next to us like last night. The day goes much better with good sleep!  

Day 77 Sunday, August 15

New York

Port Ontario to Booneville

It was a much quieter night at this campground. And it was finally cooler. I was so tired; I slept really good. We got going and went about 5 miles to Pulaski for breakfast. Back on the road around 10. It was a slow day - lots of climbing. 2 short climbs got the best of me - just too steep for me to make it to the top. I’m pretty sure we are running into steeper grades now, not too long, but steep. I’m not looking forward to all the climbing we have to get to the finish line. We got to Boonesville and had some ice cream at Freddie’s before getting to our hotel around 4:30. My legs are pretty tired. Tomorrow is more climbing…

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0