Prologue - To the Setting Sun - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2019

Prologue

Back in 2005, I was privileged to join a group of friends, some begging was involved, on a ones in a lifetime bicycle journey across the United States.  After 10 weeks of riding through some of the most beautiful country imaginable and eating and sleeping in some places that questioned the sanity of what we were doing, we found ourselves at the Pacific coast and at the end of our journey.  I would have thought that returning to my home and sweet bed would have been primarily on my mind, but I found myself with a deep remorse that this was the end.  I wanted to keep going.  There's so much more to see.  Alas, work calls and life must continue, but the longing for another tour would not fade.

Now it's nineteen years later and happenstance as opened an opportunity for a repeat tour.  "You shall not pass"..... this up.  The planets were surely in alignment as I had just bought a new titanium recumbent.  I decided that I would do this tour differently, so I could experiences some aspects that I didn't on the first tour.  First, it would be a solo tour.  It appeals to me and how I ride.  Second, the route.  I thought of retracing the same route for nostalgics, but no,  I want new territory.  Southern Tier?  In June? NO Thank you.  North it is.  I looked over the Adventure Cycling maps of the Northern Tier and found that Portland, ME. was near the route.  That's It!  Portland, ME. to Portland, OR. (for those that don't know me. I live in Portland, OR.)  Logistics are now a snap.  Fly east and come home.  Simple. (I hope)

I hope you follow me on this journey.  I'll try to keep this entertaining and not like your neighbors slide show of their trip to the Grand Canyon.  Sorry, was I dating myself.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 0