yellow brick house with white trim and two windows - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

yellow brick house with white trim and two windows

The next morning I was awakened at 10:30 when a fly landed on my eye. I decided to shower, and only after climbing into the cramped quarters with no way to quickly exit did I learn that there was no hot water. I took a painfully cold shower because by that point, I REALLY needed a shower.

Sitting around the breakfast table filled with bacon, eggs, toast with jam, orange juice, and milk, Mrs. Byrne stood and announced to everyone that I was a “confirmation” of her prophecies. She then began prophesying my future. 

With her eyes closed, she said,

“I see a yellow brick house….”

She raised a hand. 

“…..white trim…..”

Then a hum, barely audible.

“…..two windows.” 

Everyone looked at me expectantly.

“Have you seen this house?”

I shake my head and say no.

“It will be very important in your near future.”

Not sure what to say, I nodded solemnly and determined to keep an eye out for any yellow brick houses with white trim and two windows. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charles ThompsonAnd then she whipped a very agitated grass snake out of her apron and darted out of the kitchen and through the back porch screen speaking in tongues, never to be seen or heard from again....
I suppose it takes a lot of trust on both sides when relying on the kindness of strangers.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago