today’s television programming includes… - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

today’s television programming includes…

I had some mail waiting for me, and read letters from Darla, William, Sheryl, and others. When I was certain I'd be traveling through a specific town, people could send me mail by addressing it to “Mark Bingham, ℅ General Delivery” in whatever town I had selected. Smaller towns were better because the Post Office was easier to find. The Post Office would hold it for at least a week or until I showed up to collect it. In that manner, I was able to receive letters throughout the summer. I limited phone calls because of the long distance charges.

Just like my previous stops, I seemed to do a lot of sleeping and a lot of watching television. I’ve never been one of those people who have the TV running in the background, a “white noise” to my day and my life, but I seem to be in the minority. On this trip, however, I was apparently a devoted watcher.

Television programming was mostly controlled by Mrs. Wells, and she favored religious shows with televangelists such as Ernest Angley, Jim Bakker, and Kenneth Copeland. They bothered me in ways that, at that time, I found hard to articulate. 

Other programs flowed past, and I watched Chicago City, Lost In Space (which reminded me of Jerry, who would occasionally flail his arms and speak robotically:  "Help me, Will Robinson!"), the Munsters, Simon and Simon (I had to look that one up on google; it didn’t ring a bell), Hill Street Blues, SNL, The Fall Guy, and Star Trek. We also went to the theater a couple of times, where I saw the original Blade Runner and E.T. on the big screen.

Mrs. Wells and her granddaughters
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0