things I took - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

things I took

Some of the items include: a "pocket vise" (middle left) to gain more torque when removing a freewheel, a chain tool (necessary back then to break a chain), a bottle of touch up paint for my new bike (yes, really), a black box with filters for the camera (although I wasn't a good enough photographer to know how to use them), a flash for the camera (above the filters), a "camera cable release" to prevent the camera from moving when pressing the button for pictures needing slow shutter speeds (I didn't even know the name - I just now googled it), a green flashlight (bottom left), a compass (I COULD just see where the sun was, but it seemed like an important thing to take), plastic bags for waterproofing (right middle, with a white bread tie around it), two watches (two??? no recollection)
Heart 0 Comment 0
This doesn't include the book I was given at the end of my trip, and might exclude some other items. As an afterthought, I took it a couple of days after I got back by climbing onto the roof. There are two pairs of shorts: one of wool with real leather chamois (all had it back then, and the one savaged by Punjab the adorable dog whom I immediately forgave), and the other a stretch polyester fabric with a terrycloth seat liner. If you see something and want to know what it is, just ask (although I might not know).
Heart 0 Comment 0

I will mention one thing about the chain tool (middle left). When I first started working on bicycles I broke my chain (separated the links on a chain) with a punch, a hammer, and a couple of bricks. It usually took a couple of hours to get it back together. You have no idea how excited I was when I learned there's an actual tool for the task. It became so easy! 

oops... forgot to put the Walkman in there so I'll take another one. The brown/white jacket is a windbreaker, not a rain jacket. There's a dress shirt next to it, as well as a pair of jeans and a pair of nice slacks, all three of which were given to me along the way. The down jacket, also given to me, came about halfway down my monkeylike forearms.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the middle of writing this journal, I found the price list that Greg made for my brand new bike, a Viner. It lists the different potential components, and the one I selected has a little line beside it. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

At that time, Campagnolo was the best you could buy. If your bike had all Campagnolo components, you could say it was "full Campy" (like Greg's bike). As you can see, none of the above are from that company.

However, my seat post clamp (CLAMP, not seat post) was Campagnolo and, when referring to my bike, I used to joke with my friends that it's "full Campy (mumbledyseatpostclampmumbledy)."

<><><><><>

One final post follows....

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0