the tortured cow - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

the tortured cow

I woke up at 5:30 to a cow mooing. “Mooing” might not be the right word.

“Good Lord!” I thought, “Is someone TORTURING that cow?!?!” 

I’ve heard the term “cattle lowing” before, but there was NOTHING “low” about this sound. “Highing,” maybe. I’ve never been a morning person, but even so I was wondering if they issued bullhorns to the cows around here. I finally fell back asleep, and was awakened again at 6:30 by the same cow.  

At that point I determined that if no one was torturing it, I was going to. 

She continued off and on (waiting for the “on” until I was almost asleep) until 7:00, at which time I gave up and packed everything up. 

She was about fifteen feet away from my campsite. I walked over to her and stared into her large brown eyes for a minute. I know that she was definitely trying to tell me something, but I could never determine what it was. 

I've since been learning CowSpeak, like many cyclists, and have become fairly adept, although I'm still not quite fluent with all of the regional dialects.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0