the miraculous snake stick - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

the miraculous snake stick

The sky was getting darker as I continued on towards the Natchez Trace Parkway. I eventually found a suitable stealth campsite and managed to get my bike and gear over a barbed wire fence without being seen, and without contracting tetanus. 

Remembering the woman who told me snakes were everywhere, I found a stick and beat the ground in front of me like a blind man on a drunken rampage any time I took more than one step in any direction. I would keep that stick with me until I left the campsite the next morning. 

I didn’t get bitten by a snake, so it must have worked. I also didn’t get eaten by coyotes, so it must have prevented that, too. Nor did a meteorite strike me while I was walking, so apparently it prevented that, as well.

Since there was no breeze, the heat remained stifling even after the sun set. I climbed into my tent and soon determined that it was too hot to remain inside, but I SURE didn’t want to go outside… not with all those snakes everywhere. 

So, I decided that, at least temporarily, I would take off all my clothes. The moon was almost new, and since I wouldn’t be trotting around outside I stripped down to my birthday suit. 

It was miserable laying there, the sweat gluing me to whatever surface my body touched. Every two or three minutes I would move in order to find a cooler spot. Any location turned out to be better than the one my body had been heating up, but the respite was brief. I eventually fell asleep, spread-eagle on my back and still sweating.  

I'll leave you with that disturbing imagery so you'll feel compelled to keep reading in order to avoid nightmares.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0