sometimes I just don’t understand myself - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

sometimes I just don’t understand myself

Not much farther down the road, I ran out of water. There were some houses nearby so I walked up and rang the doorbell of the first one I came to. The young couple who answered said it would be okay if I used their water hose to refill my bottles, then I was back on my way. Both of them had a curious look on their faces, but neither one asked me any questions about my trip. When I turned the corner a quarter of a mile down the road they were still watching me from their porch. Must be a slow news day.

Looking at the map, I decided to take the ferry in order to avoid the traffic in Baytown (pop 56,923). 

That’s a ridiculous statement. Yesterday I sprinted through a town ON AN INTERSTATE which was more than twice the size of Baytown. Now I’m trying to slip around the busy streets in Baytown??? But that’s what my journal says.

Sometimes I just don’t understand myself.

From Baytown, it was less than fifteen miles home, all of which was uneventful.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0