no such thing as a free lunch - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

no such thing as a free lunch

Someone once told me that if a newspaper interviews you they’ll buy you lunch for your time. I had more time than money so I called up the Evanston newspaper to see if they were interested. Unfortunately, I wasn’t smart enough to say the words, “and will you buy me lunch?”  I think my subconscious plan was just to look hungry and pathetic. It was a look that came very easily to me at that time. 

The reporter, Mary Harmon, finally showed up around noon and spent two and a half hours interviewing me, her questions interrupted only by the growling of my stomach. When she was done, I was left to my own devices for sustenance.

After the interview was over I realized that I was missing a tent pole. In my haste last night I had left it at the trailer park when I was scooping up everything and throwing it into the back of Earl’s truck. I pedaled back to their house where we eventually found it.

Consequently, I didn’t leave Henderson until after 5:00, my latest start since my first day of riding. 

My late start was instrumental in what happened next. 

Earl and Mark on a tandem before the interview
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charles ThompsonI believe this picture may end up somewhere in black and white. LOL!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago