8 - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

8

After just a few miles I passed a house where three people were sitting on the porch. They eyed me for a minute as I rolled past, then almost simultaneously started yelling at me:

“Hey! Stop! We have pork chops! We have lemonade! Stop! We have beer! C’mon up!”

Thus ended my riding for the day. 

It was a momentous occasion, because I set a record for my shortest day ever. It’s a record which still stands, even after forty years…  8 miles.

I ended up just sitting with them on the front porch for a long time, then having an extended dinner which lasted more than three hours. I’m a little embarrassed to say that I ate three of their pork chops. The chops had been smoking since that morning and were delicious. They set a standard by which I’ve judged all pork chops since, and have yet to find their equal.

Charlie Gibson, who was called Uncle Chunky by those around him, was a jolly, slightly drunk, overweight smoker who had people in and out all evening. He lived with his girlfriend, Carol Ann, a widow. The conversation was crude, loud, and frequently hilarious, ranging from horse racing to finances to stories about what they did when they were drunk, to bowling. Later, on the way to the store to get some grapefruit juice and ice, Carol Ann (who was 42) educated me about farm leases and the local tobacco industry. The laughter flowed through the evening like champagne on New Year’s Eve, and everyone there….Judy, Carol Ann, Charlie, Old Man Charlie (the other Charlie), and Theresa, among others, seemed genuinely happy.

Those hours were particularly fascinating because of the juxtaposition of yesterday evening and this evening. Charlie was full of life, Mrs. Byrne full of life everlasting. Both groups expressed only kindness.   

After the evening wound down they invited me to spend the night in their extra bedroom. Later, after everyone had gone home and Charlie had fallen asleep on the couch, Carol Ann and I had a bowl of ice cream while we talked about completely insignificant and very important things.

Looking back, I wonder if it was a yellow brick house with white trim and two windows. I honestly don’t remember. 

I found a picture... not brick, but still “very important in my near future.” Carol Ann is in the center and Charlie is in front of the door looking this way.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jeff LeeSo this was eight miles outside of Henderson? I don't suppose you remember which road it was?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BinghamTo Jeff LeeUnfortunately, I don't remember. I'm lucky if I remember to zip up my pants these days. :-) Also, I just read through the original... no hints, no clues.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago