those pictures I warned you about - The Laceration That Launched a Tour - CycleBlaze

those pictures I warned you about

after it's been cleaned up
Heart 0 Comment 0
and cleaned up a bit more in the Emergency Department
Heart 2 Comment 0
the skin turns yellow after it's been infiltrated with the lidocaine, which contains epinephrine, a vasoconstrictor that helps prevent further bleeding
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
the antibiotic ointment makes the skin glisten
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
all bandaged up and ready to go
Heart 1 Comment 0
about 3 years later
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Scott AndersonI should have heeded the warning and skipped past this post. Ouch!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Andrea BrownI think you should get a distinguished tattoo to immortalize this life-changing wound! Or will that rake of a scar do it for you? I am liking the clinical descriptions, especially because it's your injury and not mine.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mark BinghamTo Andrea BrownI think the scar will do for now instead of a tattoo, although someday maybe I'll get one on the inside of my right calf that looks like a chainring.

I do think I'm going to have to come up with a better story about the scar, though... a shark attack, or perhaps I was caught in a bear trap for three days up in the mountains. The truth is a bit embarrassing. ;-)

I should post a picture of it now, several years later, so people can see how it looks.... (not too bad, really).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierTo Scott AndersonYeah, me too! The only thing worse than looking at other people's blood is looking at my own! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Andrea BrownTo Mark BinghamYour faithful readership definitely needs a scar photo.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mark BinghamTo Andrea BrownPer your request, I've now posted a recent photo. : - )
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Andrea BrownTo Mark BinghamLooks like a badge of honor, plus you can tell people you were attacked by a grizzly.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallCool scar! I want one like that too. So says the guy who purposefully got a surgical scar on his chest that would look like I'd been in a sword fight; https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/warriordeath1/about-that-title/ (scroll down a bit to see the scar - unfortunately it has healed up and doesn't look nearly that cool now)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago