Introduction and Route - Marin County Overnight - CycleBlaze

Introduction and Route

In 2010 I bought a recumbent trike with the intent of doing lots of touring. That hasn't come to pass. Yet. In the meanwhile S24O* rides are just the ticket, but where to go, where to go. For my first S24O with my trike I wanted something short yet a bit challenging.

I settled on Marin County, which is north of San Francisco. I used to live and ride there, so I had local knowledge. It had been long enough, however, since I last rode there that it would be a nice rediscovery. It was an hour's drive from home, so not too far and not too close. I decided to ride to Point Reyes Station because it has the Bovine Bakery, the Station House Cafe, and lodging. I picked San Rafael for the start because I could park my car at my aunt and uncle's place and get to see them.

As these plans were forming in my mind, I mentioned to my friend Pia that I was kinda sorta maybe thinking of doing this overnight ride thing. She  immediately said she'd love to do something like that too. Yay, a road companion. We settled on a date and we were off.

The map below shows our actual route. The "bicycle" layer in Google Maps does a good job of showing how to do the route we chose. I carried with me the Marin County Bicycle Coalition's excellent bike map. As a bonus, Marin County now has a numbered bike route system and it's pretty well signed.

We started in San Rafael and took the the southern leg (via Sir Francis Drake Blvd) west to Point Reyes Station. Next day we took the northern leg (via Nicasio Reservoir and Lucas Valley Road) back to San Rafael.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It looks ever so much more impressive when viewed in "terrain" mode, don't you think?

* S24O is technically a 'sub 24-hour overnight.' However, for me and my trusty trike Pokey, it's really 'supra 24-hour overnight.'

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0