Introduction - March Across Missouri - CycleBlaze

Introduction

My wife Joy is going to be in Kansas City, Missouri for a conference later this week, so I decided I'd ride out and meet her there. It's been a long winter with lots of work, and I'm way behind on my miles on the bike this year. I feel the need for a minor adventure.

It's about a four-hour drive to Kansas City from our place in Lebanon, Illinois, which translates into a 3.5-day, 360 mile-ish bike ride, the majority of which will be on the Katy Trail. To avoid a lot of urban riding in Kansas City, I'm going to swoop down south and west of the city, where I'll briefly enter Kansas and then hopefully be able to follow a couple of bike paths into KC.

When I had the idea of doing this last week, the weather forecast looked promising, but has since deteriorated. I'm likely to get cold, and, on Friday anyway, wet. I'm not going to attempt camping this time of year, so I'm not carrying a tent or sleeping bag.

I'm taking my 29'er, since the crushed limestone surface of the Katy Trail is likely to be mushy this time of year
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0