BRUCESTATS - OVERALL TRIP - Unmettled Roads - CycleBlaze

BRUCESTATS - OVERALL TRIP

Heart 3 Comment 6
Frank DenmanBruce,Andrea ,Sandy has got me on to this website and there you are I have started to read Burma blog ,we met at the Remember Inn and broke bread and talked all things touring.
I am only up to page 4 so may take me a few weeks to finish take care.Frank
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Frank DenmanOf COURSE we remember you and Sandy, Frank! How could we forget our breakfasts with you two at The Remember Inn? Those Shan noodles. I hope you enjoy this journal, it seems like a lifetime ago we were there instead of just a year ago. Please give our best to Sandy.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Frank DenmanHow could we ever forget you, Frank!!? Great to hear from you! We got kicked off of CGOAB which means we couldn't communicate with you via that site ever again. We can't even 'like' anything of yours anymore. I'm glad you found us and we are back in touch. Have fun reading our journal and giving us lots of 'likes' because that's what it's all about isn't it?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Frank DenmanI cannot wait to hit the road again maybe see you both on the mighty Fridays ,I luv the pannier explosions I thought it was just us.

Sending hugs for Christmas.xxx
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Frank DenmanTrain ride 17 years ago my son and girlfriend at the time and I got a train from Yangon to Mandalay was express 23 hours but took about 27 hours what a trip ,there was an expat on train who said one trip one of the carriages came off tracks so everyone gets off train so crew jack the carriage up and with all passengers push it back onto track only in Burma. So I can relate to your train trip also as I read your story I can see our trip on train.P.S I learnt long ago never eat anything on trains in Asia or at overnight bus stop cafes.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Frank DenmanI rode that Yangon-Mandalay night train in 1979. Back then it had a lot of thieves and I was told to not go to sleep all night and to hold my backpack on my lap. It's hard to hold a large backpack on one's lap all night on a train bucking like a mad steer. No sleep, a long and terrible ride.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

BRUCESTATS 

OVERALL TRIP

Duration - 90 Days

Number of days cycling town to town - 43

Number of days we felt it was too hot - 88

Average price for a night in a hotel in Thailand -  $16.18

Average price for a night in a hotel in Myanmar - $20.27

Average price for a meal in Myanmar  - 80 cents per person

Average price for a meal in Thailand - $1.25 per person 

Total cost of trip per person including airfare  - $1750. or a little less than $20 per day.

Most important new item brought along -  Actually two items tied for this distinction:   

1.)  Mosquito Electrocution Device in the form of a tennis racket. 

2.)  Sawyer Mini water filter.  

Each of these items had the potential to save our lives.  Since we are still alive we actually don’t know! 

On a menu:

“Salad of Barking Der”

Total miles ridden on our bikes from town to town - 1268

Total miles ridden on our bikes in and around towns - 200

Total miles by other transportation - 770

Total miles covered on land in Myanmar, Thailand and Laos  - 2238

Total number of snakes seen squashed on the roads - 99

Total number of live snakes seen on the roads - 2

Some names of clothing stores in Myanmar:

Dinky Diana

Wish

Smile Forever

Shoe & Fancy

On a menu:

“Chicken Wings with Meat”

On a woman’s t-shirt:

“Beautiful Tonight”

Number of raindrops - 0

Number of nights we used the tent - 0

Number of stomach problems or illness - 0 

Number of flat tires - 0

The thought I had often while riding  - ‘I love it here.’

lovebruce

This was at a coffee stand alongside the road in Thailand in the middle of nowhere. I ordered two coffees and we got one. We left it at that and shifted our attention to the beautiful shadows on the umbrella overhead as we shared a coffee.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I think these little gardens are meant to get the vegetables above animals that would love to eat them, such as free roaming pigs.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This may be an unappealing can but the woman at this stand made the best Thai ice tea of our entire trip.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Buddha store
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is in Laos where possibly the biggest company in the country is Beer Lao. I guess the sign is saying, yes, drink (Beer Lao, lots of it) but don't then drive.
Heart 1 Comment 0
You can just barely see a thin cable going around both bikes. We brought two of them but only used one. Having the cable on our bikes put us at ease but it was probably never necessary. We would bring the bikes into our rooms at night whenever we could. The bikes locked together could still be easily picked up and walked away with. Buddhist countries, man. I love Buddhist countries.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was a golf course on either side of the main road here, just outside of Vientiane, and there were several stands with boys selling used golf balls.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is a typical fairly nice newish room in Thailand. It would cost around $17 per night.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A beautiful really old teak wood building in Khemmarat, Thailand.
Heart 3 Comment 0
These are glass highway reflective markers that are embedded into roads in Thailand. They are right between the roadway and shoulder. And often they have been smashed and we absolutely did not want to ride our tires over the broken ones. We didn't even want to ride over the ones that were not broken because they are an obnoxious bump and the tires can slide off the rounded edges too which makes them actually quite dangerous for cyclists. I don't think they use them anymore.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The only thing I can come up with is that motorists are supposed to yield to bicyclists. There sure doesn't seem to be a bike lane here.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We killed a lot of mosquitoes with this. It has become an item we must travel with in Asia.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Jen RahnWhoa! If I were a mosquito, I would not mess with you.

How many do you think you killed?

And how much does that thing weigh?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Jen RahnWe killed hundreds of the nasty critters.

It weighs almost nothing - the size is the problem, also the battery which I had to remove every morning before we took off. If the battery were left in and the button got pressed inside the pannier it could burn out the unit. At the very least the battery would be toast. It barely fit in the large pannier and padding was sort of a necessity too since it's rather fragile. Other than those drawbacks it was great! Saved our lives!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
This is the best water filter I have ever had. It's super small and easy to use. It saved us lots of money and it saved the world of lots of plastic. We rarely bought water and instead filled our water bottles with filtered tap water every evening. Usually our rooms had small refrigerators so we filtered at night and put the bottles in the fridge so we would have nice cold/frozen water the next day.
Heart 2 Comment 5
Deleted AccountHi Andrea and Bruce - like the look of the water filter, AUD$60-00 so I might get one for my next trip. You might not remember me - I was following your trip on CGOAB in Vietnam in 2017 I think and we liaised a bit. I made it down to Ben Tre the following year and stayed at the delightful Hung Vuong Hotel overlooking the Ben Tre River where u stayed - loved it and been back there a few times since. Also made it up to The North-West of Vietnam late last year, a region I only knew about from following your journal so thanks. Places like Lang Son, Cao Bang and Ban Gioc (waterfall on China Border). Stunning country with the spectacular Karst mountains.
I couldn't find your journal when I was heading for that region and now I know why - you've headed over here as I now have.
Couple of questions for you - I'm having trouble working out how to amend my text on a daily post and how to place photos in the middle of the text rather than at the top. I've noticed others on here have been able to place them in the middle.

Hope you are both staying well and virus free - troubling times over there at the moment hey?

Cheers,

Andrew Haycraft
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Deleted AccountBack again - worked out how to amend text (Doh) but still can't place photos where I want?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Deleted AccountUh oh, I think I forgot how! I know that you can copy and paste/move the photos around but I'm not clear just how we did that. As I recall you can click on a photo to move it, it disappears in a scary manner, then you can click where you want it within the text and it reappears, whew.

Anybody else want to jump in here? It's been a busy year and I haven't done any posting since February.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Andrea BrownOH that's right, use the "cut" link above the photo!

And yes, we remember you, certainly. We've read all your journals, welcome to CycleBlaze, we're glad you're here.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Deleted AccountThanks Andrea - sorted.
Luv the RidewithGPS map option because I tour with that app.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Image not found :(
The narrow spot on the Mekong River. One of my most favorite spots on the Mekong.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Marsha HanchrowI've got to ask: zero flats is great, but what did you carry just in case? What size are those wheels, and could you replace a tire if something disastrous happened to any of the four?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Marsha HanchrowWe carry spare tubes, patches, tire levers, etc. The wheels are 20", a common tire size for children's bicycles anywhere so possible to replace without too much drama although of course not the same quality as a Schwalbe Marathon Plus. On three trips we've had one flat, and that was a tube seam failure, not a puncture, and we've ridden over nails, bolts, glass, thorns, rusty metal slats, you name it.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jen RahnDid you carry Deet or any other powerful bug repellent?

Any noteworthy bug bites?

I'm imagining myself at Camp Mosquito Cloud in Geraldine, MT .. running around maniacally with the Executioner Racket.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Jen RahnWe do carry a tiny bottle of DEET but I know I never used it and I think Andrea maybe used it a couple of times. In the 7-Elevens in Thailand they sell Skeetolene which is as good as DEET in my opinion. We only needed that sort of thing at dusk if we were eating outside and only around the ankles it seemed.

This racket weighs nothing, it's the size that is the problem. I wish it broke down into two pieces. It barely fits in the large pannier. It takes two AA batteries and that was a bit of a hassle because every day I had to remove them so that the racket wasn't activated constantly inside the pannier and also the batteries would go dead quickly. No big deal, just another thing I had to do every morning. I never needed to replace the batteries and we used it a lot. The racket worked great inside of every room. We killed hundreds of mosquitoes over the entire trip. We were able to get rid of every mosquito in the room before we went to sleep.

Best trip ever for no big bug bites. I think they are spraying the rooms more which we don't want them to do but we have no control. The rooms were cleaner overall than any previous trip.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jen RahnSkeetolene! I'd forgotten about that. I suggested that it was a product name that required a jingle, and Ron promptly composed one:

"Them skeeters gonna treat you mean ...
Don't worry none!
Get Skeetolene!"

Now .. if you can just invent a collapsible bug zapper racket with a jingle-ready product name, we'll come up with a jingle for you and we'll all make Million$!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Jen RahnNice jingle Ron! If I come up with a collapsable racket and team up with you jingle people I'm sure we will all become millionaires. What cyclist or camper not want one?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago