No seriously why are you doing this? - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

No seriously why are you doing this?

Ramblings

At 25 I figure I'm gonna be in my best shape, without too many responsibilities, so why not take this long tour now? I've been thinking about it non-stop for years and by committing to it I can finally make it happen.

I'm looking forward to the weeks I'll spend with Natalie biking across Virginia and Kentucky but I'm a little unsure about the remaining 2 months alone. I'll see parts of America that will be so foreign to a kiwi like me and that's exciting. I'm hoping to meet lots of people on the road and see some of that hospitality that the Midwest is famous for and hopefully tag along for a few days with other riders on the trail.

It'll be good to meet exciting animals like squirrels, deer, raccoons, bears, mountain lions, and moose. All of these are definitely more dangerous than anything I'll ever see at home in NZ so I'll try to keep my distance more or less.

The scale of the US is huge. Months on the road isn't something that I can really understand in little old NZ. It all seems like make believe but I'm actually going. My tickets are booked, I have all my gear, let's go.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Andrea BrownWow! Good for you! Check out Warmshowers too, there are plenty of them in the states along your route.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterShould be a great experience- I look forward to following along
Reply to this comment
1 year ago