Maps, Logistics, Gear, Nerdy planning stats - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

Maps, Logistics, Gear, Nerdy planning stats

Heart 0 Comment 0

Route

I'm making a few deviations from the official TransAmerica route, by combining some other trails so that I can avoid some of the dreaded heat, hilly narrow roads, and wandering dogs in the Ozarks. You can check out my planned route above and the trails it's built from below.

The different trails that make up my route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We start cycling at the official Eastern end of the TransAmerica Trail through to Berea, KY. Natalie flies out from nearby Lexington, KY and I carry on the route from there until Farmington, MO. It's here that I turn off and join the Great Rivers South route, heading North. This takes me near St. Louis, MO and avoids the worst of the hills in the Ozarks. A part of the trip many people have suffered through in journals like these.

Then I turn off the Great Rivers route onto the Katy Trail, the longest rail trail in the US. This takes me all the way to its Rock Island Spur end in the Kansas City metropolitan area. I'll route myself down through the Kansas City suburbs to Olathe, KS to try meet a friend for a few days. Then I join the American Discovery Trail, another cycling/horse-riding/hiking trail across the US.

Finally, somewhere near Great Bend, KS I can rejoin the TransAm trail and continue battling the infamous winds across Kansas.

From there it's the Rocky Mountains and National Parks and heading to the end of the trail in Astoria, OR. Then a day ride from there to Portland, OR to relax and prepare for my flights to San Francisco and onwards to home.

Planned metrics

  • Total Distance: 7100 km (4400 mi)
  • Total elevation gain: 60,000m (196,000 ft)
  • Distance per day: 90 km (55 mi)
  • Days away: 83 Days
  • Days riding: 76 Days
  • Rest days: 8 Days
  • States Traversed: 10 States
  • Rough budget for cycling: $28 USD/day ($45 NZD)

    Equipment and gear

    Bike

    My tried and true '21 Kona Sutra. I bought this bike with this trip in the back of my mind, and it's been my daily commuter, grocery-getter, and tourer for a couple years now. I've added SON dynamo lighting to it with a wheel I built but other than that it's a stock model. 

    Natalie is taking her own '22 Sutra. We love these bikes, perfect for commuting or for a crazy adventure like this.

    Bags/Storage

    I have my trusty matching set of orange Ortliebs. I've been commuting with these for nearly 4 years and they have never let me down. I'm using 4 panniers and a handlebar bag. With only 2 panniers I often find myself running short of room for food and for a trip this long I think I need as much spare storage as I can get.

    • 2x Ortlieb Back-Roller Classic Panniers
    • 2x Ortlieb Sport-Roller Classic Panniers
    • Ortlieb Ultimate 6 Handlebar bag

    Camping

    I have my trusty "3-person" Exped Lyra III tent, which is very much a 2-person tent in disguise. It's fairly light and in most of my travels has been the perfect size for 1 or 2 people + gear.

    I'm taking a small gas stove with the idea that I'll cook dinner and maybe use it for porridge and coffee in the morning but we'll see how long it is before I send it back home to save weight.

    Tech

    I have most of my routing by paper maps but I have additional GPS navigation with my Elemnt Bolt bike computer. The paper maps supplied by Adventure Cycling are excellent resources for all of the services and attractions along the TransAmerica and Great Rivers routes.

    For charging my headtorch, phone, headphones, and bike computer I have a 20,000 mAh battery pack and a 10W solar panel to help keep it topped up without needing to charge in motels or restaurants as often.

    Clothing

    All of my clothing can be worn off the bike or in town, except for one pair of bike shorts in case I need them for some extra saddle relief. I'm taking my casual SPD clip-in shoes but also a pair of running shoes so I can rest my feet and get around some gentle day walks and in the cities. Lots of merino wool to keep me warm and keep me from smelling that little bit longer.



    Photos and weight measurements to come soon.

    Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
    Comment on this entry Comment 0