Day 17: Natalie's farewell - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2023

Day 17: Natalie's farewell

Natalie's flight was at 3:40pm and she woke me up at about 2:15 in a panic because we were going to miss the check in. The blackout curtains in the hotel work really well because actually it was only 2 in the morning. We got up at a normal time and grabbed some breakfast before checking she had everything she needed and had handed anything I needed over.

I took her spork because mine had snapped and raided her first aid kit because I'd run out of sticky plasters. We couldn't schedule an Uber XL in advance but we ordered one nice and early just in case.

When it arrived it wasn't quite big enough to fit the (small) bike box while still having a rear seat up but the driver suggested we share a seat, since it was just a quick hop to the airport. 

At the airport we had a scare because the airline rep said that bike boxes weren't accepted on Natalie's first flight to Charlotte but then she realised that we were on the later flight using a bigger plane. We had double checked so it was a little worrying to have that dropped on us. After all that was settled we sat around the non-secure areas for the next few hours, chatting and reading. We headed up and watched some planes from the parking garage but the concrete is white and blinding in this part of the US.

Finally, it was time for Natalie to head into the boarding lounge. We said our goodbyes and I watched to make sure she made it through security all right. One last wave and she was gone.

I caught a Lyft into the centre of town and had a call with my parents at a cafe, and then had a bit of a late lunch. It was pretty hot out and most things were closed for Memorial Day so I headed over to a YMCA for a quick swim to cool off. The guy at the front desk was astounded by my cycling trip and I gave him the journal link. I'm only publishing this 4 days late so hopefully he sees this, and comments below to let me know.

Finally, I headed to the hotel for an early night so I can get back on the TransAm trail tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0