Day 16: Rest day in Lexington - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2023

Day 16: Rest day in Lexington

Packing for Natalie's farewell

An easy day in today.

We lazed around the whole morning before starting to pick up Natalie's bike. This bike box was a little smaller so we had to take off the rear mudguard and both wheels this time. Unfortunately, Natalie's rear wheel thru-axle was never well greased when the bike was originally assembled and we ended up bending and starting to tear the cheap 5mm Allen key Natalie had, and my multi tool would have broken too.

Luckily we had spotted some bike fixing stations on our ride on the Legacy Trail yesterday, so after a bit of sleuthing I found one nearby. There was one outside of the student run bike shop at the University, so we rode over there in the rain with some tools. The bikes without panniers felt twitchy and snappy so it was fun to get out of the hotel on them.

I dropped some chain lube into the threads and we eventually got the wheel off with the real allen key set. We also loosened both pedals while we were there just in case but they were easy since I had put grease on them earlier.

We headed back to the hotel and eventually decided to try out Arby's together as one of Natalie's last uniquely US fast foods. Definitely good, and I think I'll be having more of it.

Last dinner with Natalie, roast beef sandwiches from Arby's
Heart 3 Comment 0

After that we popped over to Campus Bar for a few drinks and some rounds of pool. It was close but I played some of the best pool in years so unfortunately Natalie lost.

Not a bad way to end a chapter in my trip across the states. Natalie's off to the airport tomorrow so I'll have to see how I go by myself. She's going to stay in San Francisco for a few days with some of her family so she's going to review some of the sights before I get there and let me know which to go for.

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 783 km (486 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0