Gunnison - Crested Butte, CO: Heading back into the mountains with a Big Foot sighting! - I'm as loose as a Type A person can be. - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2017

Gunnison - Crested Butte, CO: Heading back into the mountains with a Big Foot sighting!

Lazy mornings are mighty fine. We had only 28 miles to ride today, setting ourselves up for the big day tomorrow. We eventually went to breakfast at 9 AM. I asked for a trash bag at the counter to cover my bicycle seat in case it rains. The friendly clerk gave me an itty bitty bag. Obviously he was thinking a regular bicycle seat. I ended up with an upgrade to a 10 gallon bag.

We went back to the room and I got ready to go. Jacinto was moving slower, but we all know he would catch me later. I left at 10:15. I was hoping by doing a Jacinto style departure, I would have a tailwind up the mountain. No, that didn't happen. But the headwind was mild enough to not be an issue. I have no complaints. The ride into Gunnison is still fresh in my mind. Ugh.

There was a bicycle path out of town for perhaps 3 miles. It wasn't really necessary as there is a giant shoulder. Soon enough I was on the highway. Traffic was moderately busy, given that this is basically a deadend road. It is correct that our road tomorrow continues on out of Crested Butte, but since it's a dirt road head to nowhere, there's not much traffic.

I toodled along. There's no reason to get to town early. I had asked about an early check in. It didn't sound promising. I might as well baby my legs. Tomorrow I'll be lucky to be standing upright at the end of the day. I'm allowed to say it will be a ball busting day, even if I don't have balls.

I suddenly reminded myself I should be taking photos. This seemed much more scenic today than my last visit through here with Moni, Fred, Ken, and John. That time we were heading down to Gunnison, in no hurry because we had a downhill day. By the time we got out of town we had a headwind going downhill. I was very grouchy the whole way. I had promised myself a downhill cruise and it didn't happen. This time I had a little headwind, but I was enjoying the scenery.

Jacinto caught up to me at mile 20. We took a couple of photos and headed off. The weather was of great interest to us. At this exact moment we had sunshine. However, the forecast is not friendly. I believe if we get going in the morning and get to the top of Kebler, then we can stay ahead of the rain. It looks like once we get down to Highway 133, we will be down low enough to not get wet.

Remember how tough the climb up McClure was? We shall see if our conditioning has improved enough to make it easy (ier) the second go round. Out of all the passes we've ridden, this is the one both of us had the most trouble on. Ironic that we are riding it again.

Jacinto lobbied for leaving Gunnison and going down Highway 50 to Delta and from there tracing our route back home. According to the forecast, that would be a guarantee of no rain. But who wants to ride Highway 50 twice in one trip? Kebler is very pretty - hopefully it won't be wet and pretty. Grand Mesa would have been a perfect choice, but there is both new pavement going in and chip and seal, all the way to the town of Mesa according to the CDOT website.

We've had coffee and hot apple cider while waiting exactly for 3 PM to go to our room. There is a gaggle of women of a certain age in the common room downstairs. They sound like a gaggle of women also. It's fun.

I asked about an early breakfast tomorrow, if they do a sack lunch for hikers or something. They can leave me hard boiled eggs and granola. This reminds me of the time Oren and I asked for an early breakfast. We got hard boiled eggs and the heel of a loaf of banana bread. Jacinto had the best breakfast of the trip. That was the St Bernard Lodge near Lassen Park. Jacinto is going to wait until 7:30 for the full breakfast- I'm sure he will catch me anyway.

We are finally in the room and showered. Now we are supposed to eat, but it's raining. Jacinto wants to wait to eat. I told him what if it doesn't quit raining, are we not going to eat this evening. He thought about that for a minute and then said we could go eat anyway. I'm getting my raincoat out. I hope tomorrow it stays put away.

Later this evening - Jacinto is very sneaky. I'm quite sure he knew just where the place was that we planned to eat. He took me the long way to get there, just killing time and going for a walk. I wanted to go right there and was pouting by the time we arrived. It happened to be the same burrito place Jerry Harp, Shelly, and I ate when we hiked from Aspen to Crested Butte. Jacinto wanted to eat there because they have a giant selection of bottled salsa to choose from. Perhaps 40?

It happens that we are in Crested Butte during the wild flower festival. I think that's what all of the women at our lodge are doing here. But it has rained most of the day, so they have been drinking wine and talking. Loudly. Jacinto says they sound like chickens. I think he's the only man here.

Tomorrow should be nice going over the pass with lots of flowers to see. Hopefully we won't be in the driving rain. On a dirt road . . . . climbing a pass. This is my idea of a good time? At least I have fenders.

Jacinto wants to watch the baseball game. The lodge doesn't have TVs in the rooms 'to promote relaxation'. There is a TV in the common area where the women are. But it is 6:10 and now it sounds quiet. Maybe they went to dinner? Jacinto has disappeared. Perhaps he is watching the game after all. It's interesting that there are no TVs for relaxation, but there is wi-fi. I guess wi-fi isn't a detriment to relaxation.

This is a nice place to stay. Christiana Haus. We are here purely because it was the cheapest place with a private bathroom. We got the last room. Upstairs. The walls are quite thin. No hanky spanky tonight. It is more centrally located than the hostel. You can easily spend twice the $145. we paid. CB is an expensive place to visit.

I love Colorado.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here's a clever use for an old wagon wheel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't see any yellow flowers down low. I wonder if it's a whole field of skunk cabbage?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This looks like a foot bridge, but it is car width. I'm sure this was built long before bridge inspectors. It's still here, inspected or not.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look who caught me at mile 20.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Big Foot sighting at a wood carving shop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's me on the left, coming in to town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our lodging for the night. The perfectly nice hostel was $107. For a private room with a bath down the hall. I have stayed there twice. This is $145. For a private room/bath, breakfast is included. Bikes can go on the covered porch. We are waiting for our 3 PM check in, so can't comment on the room yet. At the hostel, dorm rooms are $36. That's the best deal if your are a single.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spectacular!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Remember those yoga shorts that didn't quite work out? They came in handy tonight. Jacinto was the man. Oren, you missed out!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 484 miles (779 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0