Day 1 Litchfield to Privacy - The Long Way to Cleveland - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2023

Day 1 Litchfield to Privacy

I knew that the first day was going to be a hard one, but I had no idea that it was going to be this hard. It is one of the hilliest days in the plan and also one of the longer in miles. The plan was to make it to Privacy Campground in North Hancock, Massachusetts, a little over 75 miles away.

The first person I ran into was Tony Renzullo, from Carbone's Market when I was on Wyoming Avenue in Torrington. He recognized the kitty litter panniers and stopped to wish me a safe trip. What a surprise ! 

 Privacy is one of my favorite campgrounds, run by an older gentleman named Andre, who designed and built it with his wife (now deceased ) in the golden age of family camping.  He built an electricity generating plant with a cistern about 300 feet up the mountain which feeds a four inch pipe that runs into a small hydro turbine generating more than enough power to run the whole place, including his house.

All set
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from Undermountain Road. Good thing I didn't take Overmountain Road.
Heart 2 Comment 0
As I was riding on Undermountain road in Canaan, I saw these sheep 🐑 and I just had to stop and take a picture. They are all Katahdin sheep. They have hair instead of wool, which they shed naturally. The one with wool is an Italian sheep dog, a real beauty!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Marlene and Oliver, owners of the sheep.
Heart 2 Comment 0
That's the way that I'm turning, but I'm already on the right side of the peak.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The back side of Brodie Mountain. After battling hills and wind all day, it was nice to see someone putting them to work.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally made it around 7:00.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The famous Andre.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Ttt

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 75 miles (121 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Lou KatzinI had no idea Andre and Privacy still existed. Look out for the kangaroo mice or whatever they were called.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
jim katzinEastern jumping mice.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago