Desert Island Discs' Second Choice - Green Is The Colour - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2015

Desert Island Discs' Second Choice

The BBC Radio 4 program, presently presented by the dulcet Scottish voice of Kirsty Young, in which she asks a castaway on a mythical island to choose eight pieces of music, or discs, a book and a luxury item to take along.

In a feature that I hope will interest readers, I give a little diversion to the usual journal page. A view into what I like, such as radio, music of coarse and books. In this recreation of the program, I am the castaway and although I haven't asked Kirsty Young (KY), I've written her part as program presenter.

Okay.

KY: It's time for more music. And for your second disc you've chosen Atom Heart Mother performed by Conservatorio de Paris (Paris School of Music and Dance). The same Pink Floyd piece as your first choice on journal page six. I see you're fascination by it.

SK: Absolutely. This version that we will hear is fresh in it's approach, includes theatre, dance and a completely different song's guitar solo within the middle guitar solo. The whole thing is brilliant.

KY: The brass and choral orchestration of the track we're about to hear, do you like classical music?

SK: No. Ah, let me think, I like Devaldi. Whots the name of the piece..erm. I just, just can't think of it now.

KY: Well we better get on and play this.

Today's ride: 206 km (128 miles)
Total: 7,412 km (4,603 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0