Day 83: Rest Day in Cedar RV Park (Near Ione, WA) - Travels with Little Debbie - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2008

Day 83: Rest Day in Cedar RV Park (Near Ione, WA)

I had decided last night that I would take a rest day today - the campground was one of the nicest I'd seen, and quiet enough that I believed I could actually get some work done on the journal, on which I was now woefully behind.

I woke up early to the patter of rain on the tent, but it didn't amount to much, and was over by the time I emerged. After taking my time in the best campground bathroom ever, I found Gabe, paid him for another day in his fine establisment, then rode the short distance into town for a super-hearty breakfast at the town's bar-and-grill. As usual, I enjoyed watching the locals interact as I ate - there really is something enjoyable about this sort of people-watching in the small towns.

After the brief early morning rain, the only evidence of which by now was a few damp spots on my picnic table, it turned into a very nice day - sunny and mild. I spent much of the day sitting at the picnic table in the shade, writing journal entries and chatting occasionally with some of the RV people who would periodically walk over and say hello. As usual, I was something of a curiosity in this type of private campground, but today I didn't mind answering the familiar questions ("How many flats?", "How many miles a day?", "Aren't you afraid?", etc.)

The day passed pleasantly - I made a few trips into town for the snacks and caffeinated beverages which I apparently require for this journal work, washed some clothes, looked over my maps, and generally took it easy.

Later, as it got dark, I realized I hadn't ridden enough today to keep my streak going in the Metafilter Biking Streak Challenge. I briefly considered putting on a light and riding the required six miles or so, but that didn't feel right, for some reason, and I decided to take myself out of the running after 82 days.

I went to bed at a reasonably early hour, and after listening to the CBC on my little radio, fell asleep quickly.

One of the nicest campsites of the trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yes, incredibly enough, this is a campground bathroom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of the spectacular bathroom at the Cedar RV Park in Ione. Not shown: Recent editions of the Readers Digest by the commode (!)
Heart 0 Comment 0
David and Char Phelps, friendly RV campers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0