Day 24: Middletown, NY: Recovering From the Minor Setback - Travels with Little Debbie - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2008

Day 24: Middletown, NY: Recovering From the Minor Setback

7.63 miles, 0:37:39 Ride Time, 12.17 Average Speed, 28.16 Maximum Speed

Added 4/29/2009: I mostly rested after yesterday's accident. I was sore everywhere, but eventually made it out of the room and rode to a bike shop a few miles away, where the guy there fixed my handlebars and checked the bike out generally.

While the bike was being worked on, I walked around the quaint downtown area, had lunch at a little cafe, then checked out the public library that was located inside an old restored train station.

After retrieving the bike, I bought a two-liter of Diet Pepsi, but apparently didn't strap it onto the rear rack adequately; it became airborne after I hit a large bump, then exploded when it came back to earth. Slightly embarrassed, I ignored it and just rode away while it spewed on the sidewalk.

Today's ride: 8 miles (13 km)
Total: 1,701 miles (2,737 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0