Day 23: Milford, PA to Middletown, NY: A Minor Setback - Travels with Little Debbie - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2008

Day 23: Milford, PA to Middletown, NY: A Minor Setback

45.86 miles, 3:28:11 Ride Time, 13.22 Average Speed, 32.24 Maximum Speed

What's the question I'm most frequently asked? "You're by yourself? What if something goes wrong?" Today I found out.

I slept well in my little cottage while it rained during the night; the forecast called for scattered showers today.

I rode back to the bridge to cross into New Jersey (again), while it started to sprinkle. I called the number for the shuttle service, and a guy (not the same as the one from yesterday) arrived promptly. He seemed (justifiably) proud of the shuttle service, and told me I was the 28th cyclist they had driven across the bridge since the program started - most had been locals, but a few had been touring cyclists. By the time we got to the other side of the river it was raining harder, and after he helped me get my panniers back on the bike, I immediately got under the tent that is provided as part of the service.

It started to rain harder, so I called my friend Peter to have him check the weather on the internet; apparently the storm was right over me, but would be moving east soon. Peter might be a frustrated meteorologist; he always seems to enjoy predicting the weather patterns when I occasionally call him while I'm escaping the rain under a pavilion, tent, barn, etc. Thanks, Peter!

I got bored waiting under the tent while it rained, so when it finally slacked off a little, I left. At some point I crossed into New York, although no sign marked the occasion, and rode into Port Jervis (pop 8,860). As is common on the Adventure Cycling routes, I seemed to be riding into the "back end" of town; I believe I rode past a sewage treatment plant, for about the tenth time on this trip.

I stopped in the little town of Huguenot, and had an early lunch at a nice store/deli. The huge, delicious blueberry muffin was way above average.

The rain had stopped when I rode out of Huguenot, and it continued to be easy riding through the little communities of Godeffroy, Cuddebackville, and Westbrookville. I had to climb out of the river valley before I arrived at Otisville (pop. 989), then Mt. Hope, where I bought some snacks. Still no Little Debbies, but the Drake Apple Pie was good. I don't think I could take a steady diet of them, however: They are among the most intensely sugary things I've ever eaten.

I made my way through the larger town of Middletown (pop. 25,388), and then, about eight miles later, as I approached Bloomingburg (pop. 353), I had an accident.

I was coming down a small hill onto a bridge, when my front tire got caught in a deep groove, or channel, between the paved shoulder and the bridge surface. I lost control of the bike and went down. I've fallen a few times before, but this felt much more violent. I stood up quickly (luckily there was no traffic), and got the bike to the side of the bridge. I had fallen on my right side, and had the usual road rash on my knee, thigh, and hip. My elbow was in the worst shape - it was bleeding pretty heavily from an ugly gash.

I stood for a few minutes trying to collect myself, when some people stopped. One of them was a volunteer fireman, and despite my protestations that I was OK, he "called it in." Soon a state policeman, a local cop and an ambulance arrived. The elbow was still bleeding heavily (it completely soaked the rain jacket I was wearing), and I must have looked bad enough that everyone practically insisted I go to the emergency room.

One of the two female EMTs easily lifted the loaded bike into the ambulance (I was impressed - that thing is heavy and awkward to carry), and the bike and I made the trip back to Middletown, where I checked into the emergency room at Horton Hospital.

Everyone at the hospital was very nice, but it was busy, and I was there for hours. X-Rays of the elbow showed nothing broken, but I did require four stitches.

After getting stitched up, I retrieved the bike from the locked room where it had been stored, only to find the handlebars were now bent at a thirty degree angle. Nothing else seemed broken, so I carefully rode the three miles or so to a Holiday Inn, where I'm sure I looked rather pathetic. Criss, the nice lady at the front desk, took pity on me and gave me a good deal on a room. This was a much nicer place than I usually stay at, and would have been the most expensive motel yet without the discount. Thanks, Criss.

I checked into my room and immediately called a local bike shop and found out that they opened at 11:00 in the morning. That meant I would need to stay in Middletown another day, so I arranged that with Criss, took a shower (painful with all the road rash), then went to bed.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of these signs this morning... I've seen dozens of this type of "protest" sign the last three weeks; this is one of the least informative. Does anyone know what the hospital should be ashamed of?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Typical scene this morning - riding up out of a river valley
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This would have been tempting on a hot, sunny day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
These guys are apparently a local institution.
Heart 1 Comment 0
After getting the stitches in my elbow
Heart 1 Comment 0
My right elbow
Heart 1 Comment 0
I rode the three miles from the hospital to the motel with the handlebars like this.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,693 miles (2,725 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0