Riding out of town: Oh yes, this is SE Asia.... - Taking my life for a ride - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2015

Riding out of town: Oh yes, this is SE Asia....

With SK's expert directions, getting out of Singapore was... OK, it was messy. It was a bit messy and a bit stressful, but by the time I got to the Causeway Immigration/Customs check point, I was getting the hang of riding in Singapore traffic. You thinking of doing it, too? Just remember to avoid the flyovers if you can and stick to the left and let the bus drivers through wherever you can.

No worries.

Me and SK. If you're on a bike and going through Singapore, you stay here. Full Stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now getting out of Johor Bahru is something different. I think I would not like to repeat that ride again... ever. It was hot and humid. It was grimy and dusty. And it was so, so nerve shatteringly dangerously busy/chaotic. You basically ride straight out of the Malaysian Customs/Immigration buildings into a multi-lane freeway with traffic going very fast in everywhichway. Too often I found myself in situations I did not like.

Buddha's tooth lives here. Very impressive temple, inside and out. They have minders at the door, politely turning around those (mostly women) inappropriately dressed. And not just the foreigners, plenty of the local girls were also diverted. They have wraps they can rent to cover up properly before entering the temple.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy is also one of the guards at the temple entry.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was heading for Skudai, only about 50 km from my starting point at the Tree In. I bailed out about 5 km from my destination as I thought I had pressed my luck far enough merging in and out of multi-lane high speed traffic.

Johor Barhu, impromptu shower. This water main had blown it's top. It made for a lovely refreshing roadside shower.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There will be some photos, but not of the traffic. I was too busy trying to not get run over.

Still some city traffic to negotiate tomorrow, but I should be on quiet coastal roads by mid day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0