Umatilla, OR: Rest day. - Following the Lewis and Clark Trail 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2005

Umatilla, OR: Rest day.

I slept in and read. Took a shower. Took a nap. This was a much more restful rest day than the hectic day in Missoula. I think some of the guys were REALLY bored. I'm fine with a book and a nap. I was happy doing a whole lot of nothing.

Bob and Robert fixed us scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast. But we didn't have any salt (the container kept coming open enroute). Scrambled eggs with no salt is a taste sensation I don't care to repeat.

It was my turn to cook. Oregon John had been my partner and he left. Then Tom was my partner and he left.I told Ryan not to assign anyone else to me as I didn't want anyone to leave. Ryan said he would help me. We walked to the nearby store for fixings. One of the advantages of being the cook is picking out the food. I chose a watermelon for dessert.

There were a high number of hispanic people in the area. I imagine they work the fields. I bought a dozen tamales from a lady we met outside of the store. Everyone at camp was a bit mystified, but I explained that selling tamales was a very acceptable manner of earning some extra money. I offered the tamales around. They were a bit too ethnic for some group members. I liked them.

I was in bed early, hoping to beat the wind with an early start. Our rest day had been practically windless. I hope we didn't regret not taking advantage of the break in the weather and riding.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0