Portland, OR: Day Off. - Following the Lewis and Clark Trail 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2005

Portland, OR: Day Off.

This was the extra day we had built into our schedule. I had tried to sweet talk Ryan into using this day several times. Most noteably to shorten the 88 mile day down the Loscka River. No go. Now we had a day to kill. I checked out flying out early. $100. ticket changing fee. Flying stand by cost the same. For $100. I could pay another night in the hostel ($15.) and eat. I decided to stay put. I was impatient to see my family now that I was done cycling.

I walked to Fred Meyer's grocery and printed out all of the photos I had taken since Missoula. I walked to a nail place and had a manicure and pedicure. That was extra nice. All of the walking took plenty of time and I was tired, so I had a nap.

I had said goodbye early in the morning to Carlton. He was going to stay with relatives in the area before taking the train out. I was very sad to see Carlton go. He had become a good friend during the tour. I think I was a bit abrupt in my goodbye, but I didn't want to cry.

Recumbent John and I had discussed visiting Coventry Cycles, a well known recumbent shop. It was on the other side of town without free bus service. I was getting walked out. John went alone.

I had asked some of the guys what they were doing for dinner. I received an obviously reluctant invitation to join them. I felt a bit odd. During the trip it was a given we'd eat together. Now we were no longer a group. I didn't go eat with them, but had a couple of slices of pizza from a pizza place.

I walked over to Powell's Bookstore. I was lost in there for over an hour. I had mail ordered from them several times over the years. We have the very famous Tattered Cover in Denver. Powell's would be hard pressed to impress me. The exterior was ordinary, the inside obviously a jumble of different buildings made into one. I found the floors quite confusing as they weren't exactly floors, some going up a couple of steps, others entire flights of stairs. The confusing part was rather than having 1st, 2nd, 3rd floor, etc. the floors were color coded. I didn't know if the purple floor was the 1st, or the 5th. I was happy to muddle around though. There's nothing better than a book store. I have to admit that Powell's edged the Tattered Cover out on one very important point. Powell's sells used books. That's when I've ordered from them, finding some used book to buy. The part I really, really like about Powell's was that they place the used books right in with the new books. That way you can judge for yourself at a quick glance if the used copy was even available and if the quality was good enough. I bought only 2-3 books as I still had to get them in my bag and get them home.

Peggy and Jerry had gotten a private room at the hostel, as had John. I was the only one of our group left in my section of the dorm. I felt a little strange as several young European backpacker types moved in. I'm sure they felt a little strange with the 'mature' American woman in the room.

Smoker John had left us a message that he had gone home early. We didn't get to have a proper goodbye with him. John had been one of my frequent companions on the road. I liked him. I felt bad that he missed out on his bag of spices. Carlton took it instead. We didn't feel too sad last night while at Jake's for dinner when we spent his share of the dinner money on appetizers!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0