Clarkston, WA - Lewis and Clark Trail State Park: Climbing, climbing. chicken fajita burritos for dinner! - Following the Lewis and Clark Trail 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2005

Clarkston, WA - Lewis and Clark Trail State Park: Climbing, climbing. chicken fajita burritos for dinner!

I wasn't two miles down the road from the campground when I started climbing. It was a nice steady climb that went on and on. Again, Ryan showed up to keep me company. How does he do that? Always on the climbs, too. I knew we were on the plains when I saw antelope. The climb was not too hard, but moving that slowly doesn't generate much air. I could see the heat shimmering. It took so long for me to make the eleven mile climb that many of the others caught up with me. At the summit Recumbent John, Carlton, Ryan, and I all had a snack at a picnic table. We took photos. Bob and Robert showed up. I don't think I'd ever seen them on the road before. It really did take me a long time if they've caught up.

The elevation of Alpowa was 2,785 ft. According to our map we started at about 500 ft. I've discovered that there can be a good climb without attaining 10,000 ft.

My notes say there was a second climb with two summits. I've been staring at the ACA map trying to find a second climb.Nothing appears too significant. I definitely remember doing it. I stopped at a roadside rest area where Tom was blithely eating his lunch next to the hugest most disgusting overflowing dumpster I have EVER seen. I was grossed out just stopping next to it. Didn't seem to bother Tom, though. Right after the dumpster the road took a turn and went up. It was very hot and sweaty. I caught up to Carlton for awhile and then he gradually pulled away. I could see the heat shimmering off of the dry fields. I was not a happy camper. I don't do heat well. It's probably a good thing I was riding alone at this point.The rain from earlier in our trip was definitely forgotten. Temps were very warm on the plains of eastern Washington.

We spent the night at the Lewis and Clark Trail Campground. It was huge. The trees were very huge. I was not even one of the first people in to camp. Very unusual. I got lost going to the showers and felt cranky about it. There is an advantage to being one of two women on a trip. We never had to wait for the showers. Peggy always started very late and got to camp late. We were never in competition for shower time. The guys had to take turns frequently. These were quarter showers, but a real shower house with real toilets and sinks. Pretty nice if you don't get lost on the way there. After I got back one of the guys showed me the short cut to the bathroom. I knew I'd never be able to make it at night, I'd just have to find a bush. The trees and bushes were so thick that we could hear other people talking but couldn't remotely see them.

The very best part of the evening was the food. I think it was the best meal of the trip. Jerry and Recumbent John fixed chicken fajitas. They were a real treat after a long, hot day of tough cycling.

During the evening we heard a woman screaming loudly. Sometimes it was words that we couldn't quite make out, other times just screaming. Every time we decided we should go report her to the ranger, she quit. And then started up again. It was quite strange and unnerving. Otherwise it was a very nice campground and certainly a great meal.

Leaving Chief Timothy State Park near Clarkston, WA
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical terrain in eastern Washington.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen these in other journals also. They are an interesting excuse to stop out in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our campsite at Lewis and Clark Trail State Park.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 760 miles (1,223 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0