Banks, OR - Portland, OR: Too much traffic. - Following the Lewis and Clark Trail 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2005

Banks, OR - Portland, OR: Too much traffic.

I was up early, hoping to beat the traffic. Riding wasn't bad for the first 10-15 miles. The traffic started to pick up then, but I still had a good shoulder. Then I hit a construction zone. There wasn't actually any construction going on since it was the weekend, but there were plenty of cars heading back to town from their weekend on the beach.

This was really, really not fun. The exit ramps were starting to get lots of use. I wasn't sure of the appropriate way to cross them. Having construction barrels in the way didn't help. I stopped to look at my map to see an alternate route. As bicycle friendly as Portland is, I was sure there's a better way to town, it was just a matter of finding it.

Again, magically, Ryan is to the rescue. He told me to tuck in behind him and follow closely. I certainly did. I was panting with the effort of keeping up with him, but I followed closely. I was happy, but puzzled when he stopped. Ryan was nursing (another) flat tire. I asked if we were taking our lives in our hands, because that's how it felt to me. Ryan assured me we were doing fine. Traffic was moving fairly slow for highway traffic and they were watching for us. It's just not so fun to ride with 50 mile an hour cars one foot from my elbow.Ryan pumped the tire up and we continued on. Finally, finally, Thank God, we reached our exit. As soon as we were down the exit ramp there was no traffic and everything was calm. Ryan waited for me. I inhaled and exhaled loudly. This was not the ending I was hoping for on our adventure. However, this last day was certainly an adventure with cycling through that construction zone.

Ryan informed me he was going to the bicycle shop to break down his bike for shipping. I continued on to the hostel. I didn't even get more than minorly lost. I checked in. This was more what I thought I hostel would be like, with people from several different countries and dorm type rooms. People from our group arrived in pairs. Carlton and Recumbent John came in together. Bob and Robert. Peggy and Jerry. We all made it through the construction. Carlton, Bob, and I decided to ride to the bike shop to ship our bikes. They were going to ship their bags first at a Kinko's. I decided to go straight to the shop. I got majorly, majorly lost. The streets in Portland are numbered, so it should have been easy. I kept coming to the overpass over the interstate. I bounced my bike and trailer up the huge flight of stairs and down the other side. I knew that was wrong, but I had to prove it to myself. I bounced back the other way. I thought of several very bad words. It had been a stressful day. I finally gave up and went back to the hostel. I had given my map to Carlton as I was sure I could find the shop. I got back to the hostel, got a new map, did not ask the clueless girl for directions again and I figured out how to get there myself. When I arrived Carlton and Bob were just arriving also. They had gotten lost, having followed the same directions I did. I was less than happy to have to pay $165. to ship my bike home. I had a quote written down for a recumbent (not a regular bicycle) given to me by a specific employee. I was told that quote was not good, take it or leave it. The guy stated this a bit more politely than that, but basically that's what he said. I was so tired and frustrated and Carlton and Bob were waiting for me that I just paid and left.

We walked until we got to the free bus, rode that as far as we could and then walked some more back to the hostel. I was exhausted. It had been a stressful day. I felt naked without my bike.

I showered, rested a bit, and then walked to the REI store. Ryan had told us to put on our best duds for our extra special final dinner. I tried on many clothes at REI. I was proud of how good my body looked. I felt as if I had lost lots of weight. My tan was great. I bought a mini skirt and a new top. I have not owned a mini skirt in 15 years. I'm sure no one on the trip would realize what a step that was for me. I was very self confident in my new clothes.

Ryan did have a surprise for us. He had ordered a limo to take us out to dinner and show us the town! We had so much money left in the pad that we had quite a splurge! We went to a famous seafood house(Jake's?). Ryan told us to order whatever we wanted. (!) No more scrimping for us.

After a wonderful dinner with appetizers and dessert,we took a tour of the city. All of the lights were gorgeous. We went to see the rose gardens and the docks.

Bob, Robert, and Ryan were dropped off to do the town bar scene. The rest of us were done in and dropped off back at the hostel.

What a long, memorable day.

Riding in the limo. Check out that tan line!
Heart 0 Comment 0
If I had realized my little camera could take such a nice photo in the dark, I would have taken more photos while we visited the rose garden on our limo ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 1,255 miles (2,020 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0