Fleeing the crowds: St. Valery to Beauvais - Les Gens du Nord: Revisiting Northern France - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2013

Fleeing the crowds: St. Valery to Beauvais

There was a little rain overnight, but the sun in the morning got most of my stuff dry by the time I wanted to leave. I grabbed breakfast in town, packed up and headed for Abbeville. I could have stayed in St. Valery, ridden the tourist train, and visited the bird sanctuary, but the hoards of vacationers put me off. I decided to try to get to Abbeville where I could fast forward on a train to Amiens, and then to Formerie. The ride to Abbeville was about as fast as I ever have gone while touring on a bike. I stopped once on the just outside St. Valery to buy a new gas cannister, then with the aid of a tailwind I was off. I had given myself an hour and a half to get to the station, a mere 25 km away. Normally I would have gotten to the station with just enough time to buy my ticket and get on board. This time, I got there with 35 minutes to spare. I was amazed at the pace; That tailwind must have been stronger than I thought.

Waiting for me patiently in the station at Abbeville. Only five people got on here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lifting the bike up to the hook is not easy when its fully loaded. But I managed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got a sandwich and drink in the station at Amiens between trains. The ride to Formerie only took 25 minutes, and then I was off to Gaillefontaine.

This is the only sight to see in Gaillefontaine. Every business in the town was closed, this being Sunday. So no stamp on my card, just a photo of the sign to prove I was there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Proof.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The next town on my list, Songeons, was just a few kilometers away, so I reached there with little trouble. Again everything was closed. I stopped a couple on the street to inquire about camping and eating possibilities. I was out of luck for eating (no restaurants) and the campground was uphill 5 km out of town. I went to it anyway, but there was nobody home there either. Back to Songeons for a photo, and off toward Beauvais.

Songeons' lovely 15th century market hall, still used once a week (but not on Sundays!).
Heart 0 Comment 0
More proof. The slash indicates that one is leaving the "agglomeration" and also serves as a "resume speed" sign for motorists.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a straight ride into Beauvais, where the lack of a campground and the late hour led me to a hotel for the night. The hotel St. Vincent also had a restaurant attached, so it was deal done. Carpaccio de boeuf (thin slices of raw beef marinated in olive oil and spices, topped with grated parmesan) for dinner.

Today's ride: 93 km (58 miles)
Total: 650 km (404 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0