Abbey road: Senlis to Soissons - Les Gens du Nord: Revisiting Northern France - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2013

Abbey road: Senlis to Soissons

Last night's rain had dissipated by the time I got packed up this morning. The air was fresh enough that I toyed with the idea of wearing a jacket, but I soon gave that up figuring that I would pedal myself warm. There was an archaeological site marked on the map, and as it was not far off my planned route to Pierrefonds, I decided to make the detour. Surprisingly, I recognized the spot from a trip my wife and I had made many years ago. There is a Roman theater, temple and baths in the middle of nowhere. No sign of a city or other settlement nearby.

A nice start to the day, tree lined road and all.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The baths. When Sue and I were here there was a large circular basin in the middle of this space. It has since been removed, I hope to protect it and not because it was damaged.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Despite its location on some very bad roads, the site is a cycle-tourist magnet. I talked to a couple from Brussels on their way to Paris, and this Dutch family headed south.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued on my way to Pierrefonds, a city rebuilt by Violet-le-Duc in the 19th century. The style is a little twee for my taste, but it appealed to the romantics of the time.

The chateau, as restored. It looks like a Disney castle, and in fact Disney was inspired by other of Violet-le-Duc's works. I was tempted to cry out for Rapunzel to let down her hair.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had lunch in a pizzeria, but the pizza proved too big for my appetite. The day was slowly becoming greyer, so after getting my card stamped, I headed down the road to Longpont.

On the way to Longpont, I passed this private garden decorated with some excellent mosaics.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The mosaics seemed to be in the ancient Roman style.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The town was tiny, and there were no businesses at all, jut a mairie and the ruins of a once great abbey.

Destroyed during the revolution, the abbey is still impressive in ruins.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rain started soon after I left Longpont, and continued all the way to Soissons.

As I headed northward, I started to enter the area where the great battles of the first world war were fought. This monument was to a French general killed in battle.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was able to put up my tent in the municipal campground between rain showers and walked into town for dinner at local bistro. A big salad for dinner, because frankly one doesn't get enough vegetables on tour, and surprise the sun came out. To bed early under clear skies.

Today's ride: 112 km (70 miles)
Total: 168 km (104 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0