Guestbook Entries - To Surprise Laurie - CycleBlaze

Guestbook Entries

Below is an archive of guestbook entries I received and sent when this journal was posted at the Crazy Guy on a Bike website.

CycleBlaze (where this journal is now) allows comments for each day’s entry and for each individual picture, if you’d like to leave a note.

------------

#1: Enjoyed your Journals
 By Aaron Bransky (arbransky) on Mon 2 Apr 2012 15:35
Hi, I've enjoyed reading your journals about your travels. The entry about Jerseyville was fun to read, because I also once had to go into Jerseyville for a new bike tire while touring.
I've ridden on some of the same roads in Central Illinois, having grown up in Peoria. Your journal about this trip gave me some useful information and ideas about biking in the area (I now live in Duluth, MN), and I just finished a short trip with my son from Carlinville to Princeton and published a journal on this site (my first) about it. We enjoyed the quiet roads south and north of Peoria a lot.
I have shown your journals to a number of people in order to demonstrate that you don't need fancy equipment to go on a long, fun bicycle trip! People are surprised to learn that a person can go many miles a day on a single speed bike.
Thanks again.
Aaron Bransky

#2: Re: Enjoyed your Journals
 By Jeff Teel (map330) on Mon 2 Apr 2012 22:18 in reply to #1
Aaron,
Thanks for the guestbook entry! You've posted my first one (as I'm sure you know). I read your journal before church yesterday morning (which made me a little late). Then again today during lunch, I studied in particular your route though East Peoria. Today was the first time I rode my bike to work (Morton to Peoria), and I used Google Maps-recommended routing. After encountering a few glitches going (trail cut in two by new road construction and a "bike path" with a flight of steps (near Methodist Hospital)), I wanted to see how you two went, so I might get home a better way. However, I saw from your track-map that you encountered the same problems in East Peoria that I was facing.
I actually thought about you on my way home as I squeezed past the "Road Closed" sign (that was facing the wrong way) at the tunnel under the RR tracks, and how you missed (it appeared to me) the short section of path behind the strip mall there in East Peoria. Anyway, I did make it home.
My wife just read your message and said, "See, you're going the disappoint people when you start riding your new three-speed bike." It's true, I bought a 2010 Trek Belleville last May for future trips. I'm still making modifications to it, so rode my old bike today.
I definitely enjoyed your first journal - you've included all the details needed for enjoyable reading, and I love the local pictures!
Looking forward to more reports from you.
Jeff

------------

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0