Day 9 - Destination: Springfield, Missouri - To Surprise Laurie - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2009

Day 9 - Destination: Springfield, Missouri

rode on Frisco Highline Trail

Day 9 - Bolivar, MO to Springfield, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 6:00am, and enjoyed the free motel breakfast: waffle, Raisin Bran, a bagel, orange juice, and coffee.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I felt close to my goal since the 'local' room TV stations were from Springfield. The weather report called for a chance of rain. I figured it wouldn't and left my rain gear packed at the bottom of the rear bag. Got started at 8:40am, after calling Tahdra to wish her and Isaac a safe trip to Springfield.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided to ride (in the wrong direction to Springfield) to the start of the Frisco Highline Trail, since I wanted to do the whole trail.

At 9:02am I was at the start of the trail (actually the 'end' as indicated on the map).

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's damage to a building from a storm that roared through southwest Missouri earlier in the month. Some trail walkers told me cars were also damaged.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Part of the trail in town is on city streets.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 9:27am, I was back to where I'd started.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Countryside south of Bolivar (looking toward the northwest).

Heart 1 Comment 0

Here's where the trail rejoins the railroad bed.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's what I later found out was a section of Missouri prairie.

Heart 0 Comment 0

My first trail obstacle. Actually, it wasn't that hard to cross.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail was a little rough in sections.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I ran over this spike. No damage done!

Heart 0 Comment 0

This was a very peaceful section.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This is my favorite turtle picture. He had the perfect spot on a ledge beside the trail.

Heart 0 Comment 0

These critters kept running fast to get out of my way. On bridges they'd run off the edge, though maybe they could hang on upside-down underneath. This one actually posed long enough for a picture.

this fellow wanted to sell me some insurance
Heart 0 Comment 0

Spring scenery.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

There was a hole in this bridge deck.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 1:11pm I reached the Walnut Grove trailhead and stopped for a break. A dog greeted me there and showed me where the only spot with shade was. He looked thirsty. I had water but no dish. It took a minute's thinking to come up with the idea of cutting the bottom off of one of my water bottles. That worked. He stayed right there and let me hold the container (almost sideways) for him. After several refills, I was beginning to wonder if I was leaving enough water for myself.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Waiting for the milk truck to pass.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Break-time. Somewhere back on the trail, I lost my US flag.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Where a paved part of the trail starts.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 3:00pm I approached Willard.

Heart 1 Comment 0

In Willard I stopped at the trailhead for a break.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I should have been thinking about finding a place to stay dry, but I still didn't think it would rain on me again! I was wrong. As soon as I left Willard, it started. At one point, I could hardly see the trail. I got wetter today than yesterday. The only good thing was it quieted the squeak from my left pedal, which was falling apart.

The rain lasted maybe 15 minutes, and then I was able to get the camera back out. Apparently I'm riding on buried track here also.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 4:25pm I reached the end (actually the start) of the trail (I'm looking backwards here.)

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued on toward Bill and Laurie's by following roads indicated on a Springfield map as 'Bike Routes'. Not much to these bike routes besides the signs.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 5:08pm I reached the entrance to the fairgrounds. I was close now. I could walk from here if I had to.

Heart 0 Comment 0

A few more hills - one I had to walk up - and I was in the subdivision. At 5:28pm I was at Bill and Laurie's house. Laurie somehow knew I was there and came out to greet me. She, obviously, was relieved to see me. She took the 'end-of-trip' picture for me.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I was disappointed to hear that Tahdra and Isaac weren't there yet. I wanted some dry clothes!

While waiting, I sent out my last email report:

Subject: Day nine - drying out again!
Date: Tuesday, 5-26-2009 7:31 PM
Up at 6am.
Motel breakfast: waffles, raisin bran, bagel, orange juice, coffee.
8:40am start.
Backtracked to start of frisco trail. There at 9:02am. Back to where I started at 9:27am.
Heavy rain at willard.
End of frisco at 4:25pm.
Bill and laurie's at 5:28pm!
Waiting for tahdra, isaac, and dry clothes.
45 miles
6:12 moving
7.2 mph driving
Thanks for your home front support.
Full report to follow.
Jeff

I also had time to take a few more bike pictures - of the damaged pedal (enlarged hole next to crank) and wet trail dust.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Bill rigged up a clothes line in the garage for hanging wet items.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I stayed outside, not wanting to get a shower until I had dry clothes to get into. After waiting awhile I called Tahdra. They were lost. Laurie gave them instructions on how to get here from where they were. Finally, around 8:00pm, they arrived. Laurie and Bill gave Tahdra a house tour while I cleaned up. Then we went to Ziggie's for supper. Our waitress took our orders (from five persons) without an order pad, and didn't get anything wrong. I'd never seen that before! I really enjoyed my steak and eggs 'breakfast', as well as getting to visit with everyone. Once we were back at Bill and Laurie's (about 10:30pm), I don't remember delaying by much getting to bed. I was looking forward to sleeping in!

Day Nine: 46 miles in 8 hours, 48 minutes = 5.2 mph.

Spent: $0.00.

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 549 miles (884 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0