Day 8 - Destination: Bolivar, Missouri - To Surprise Laurie - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2009

Day 8 - Destination: Bolivar, Missouri

Day 8 - Clinton, MO to Bolivar, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 7:00am, watched weather report on TV (scattered rain), and went for the free breakfast in the motel at 8:35am.

Received another email from my father-in-law, who filled me in on more happenings from home and wished me well on the rest of the trip.

I called Tahdra and found out she had emailed Laurie on Friday what I was up to! (She didn't want to explain to Laurie where I was if she and Isaac arrived before I did.) Fortunately, Bill and Laurie were in St. Louis with friends for the weekend, and Laurie didn't get the news until this afternoon.

Here's the email exchange between Tahdra and Laurie.

Subject: Re: A Question
Date: Fri, 22 May 2009 4:39pm
From: Tahdra
To: Laura
Hi! Thanks! We hear that we should see the Bass Pro Shop and Isaac would like that. He is going fishing in Canada and Colorado this summer. Also, we thought the Springfield Conservation Nature Center sounds fun. Have you been there?
We could do one each day - not to tax ourselves - Isaac wants loafing time at your house! I think Jeff will need some recovery time, also, since he decided to bike (and tent) down to you, guys. He is already in Missouri today and should arrive late Tuesday afternoon about when Isaac and I will. Oh, also Isaac said Buckingham's was fun.
Love, Tahdra

Subject: RE: A Question
Date: Mon, 25 May 2009 12:39pm
From: Laura
To: Tahdra
Tahdra,
You're kidding, right? Jeff isn't really on the road on his bike? Oh how I hope you're kidding. It's raining. It's probably 400 miles from here to there and there are tons of very strenuous hills. Can you call him now, find out where he is and we'll go get him?
Love,
Laurie

Subject: Re: A Question
Date: Mon, 25 May 2009 6:22pm
From: Tahdra
To: Laura
Laurie,
Thanks! He doesn't keep the cell phone on, though - just turning it on to call me, if needed. He has rain gear, and he is very determined - you know Jeff! He was planning on staying in a motel tonight, so he should be fine. This morning he was 90 miles out from you guys. He was going to do 45 and 45 so it will be an easy finish for him considering Sunday he did 76 miles. I know he would be mad at us picking him up at this point! He has promised to call if he needs a ride. Thanks again and see you tomorrow - sounds like you had a very nice weekend!
Love, Tahdra

Later I heard this story on Laurie's concern: Laurie said to Bill, "We've got to get the state police to find Jeff so we can pick him up!" Bill replied, "What do we tell them? To look for a guy dressed like a janitor on a bicycle?" I guess that's when Laurie decided it was hopeless. Thank goodness!!

Checked out at 9:38am, after asking the desk clerk if the road behind the motel connected up with Route 13. It did.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Route 13 does have a nice wide shoulder, except along three bridges, where it is narrow. I waited for a hole in the traffic flow before riding as fast as I could across.

Eighty-five miles to Springfield, but I only need to get to Bolivar today.

Heart 0 Comment 0

A bicycle-friendly road!

Heart 0 Comment 0

There were also a few signs for sharing the road with horse-drawn buggies. I did notice here and there that horses had been on the shoulder before me. I picked up nails, screws, and other sharp objects from the road whenever I saw them, but there was no way I could pick up all the nails at one section of shoulder I passed over. It was like an obstacle course, but I made it through OK.

Here's the only picture I've ever taken while moving on my bike. It didn't come out too bad, except that a car behind me triggered my 7 mph reading to 60 just when I snapped the picture! I was ready for a break, so stopped at the Shell station in Lowry City (ahead in the picture) for an orange juice at 11:50am.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Beyond Lowry City, it started to rain. Not enough to put on my rain gear, I thought. Later it was raining a little harder. By then, I was too wet to bother with the rain gear. This picture was to show how wet things were, but I think it shows better that I'm not very good at taking in-focus close-up pictures.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's what I was heading into - nothing severe.

Heart 0 Comment 0

And here's what I'd come through.

Heart 0 Comment 0

During the day several cars in the opposite northbound lanes honked 'Hi' as they went by. No honks though from southbound traffic, which I considered a good thing. I saw a small flag on the side of the road, and decided it would make a nice addition to my bike, considering it was Memorial Day.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's better evidence that it was wet.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The showers were off and on, finally ending in the later afternoon. I walked up some of the hills. At the top of one hill was an intersecting road, where a small pickup truck with two men was stopped. When I got to it, the driver said, "How long have you been walking that bike?" I told him just up this hill. We talked about my final destination, and the hills between Bolivar and Springfield - one was big enough to have a name (that I don't remember). I told them of my plans to use the Frisco Highline Trail from Bolivar to Springfield. They thought that was a good idea. They offered me a ride to Bolivar, but of course, staying on (or beside) the bike was the whole point of the trip.

Finally, Bolivar was in sight.

Heart 0 Comment 0

In Bolivar, while still on Route 13, I passed three motels, all together on a frontage road, and decided the first one I could get to would work. At 5:45pm I arrived at the Super 8. They also let me keep my bike in the room (#117). There weren't any nearby places to eat, so I decided to stay in the room, unpack all the wet items, shower, and eat sardines for supper.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I really appreciated the coffee maker in the room (another one of those one-cup units), using both the caffeinated and decaffeinated brewing packs. Watched a little TV, including the end of the movie Sergeant York. Had to turn the room AC on 'heat' to dry out my boots, which made the room a little warm.

Subject: Day eight - wet!
Date: Monday, 5-25-2009 8:34 PM
Up at 7am.
8:35am motel breakfast.
9:38am leave.
South on route 13. Wide shoulder except at three bridges.
11:50am stopped in lowry city for an orange juice ($1.70).
After that - RAIN!
By the time I knew I should have rain suit on, it was too late. Rain quit about six miles from bolivar.
5:45pm super 8 in bolivar ($58).
Spread out everything to dry out.
Note for tahdra: bring a pair of boots also.
Sardines, crackers, raisins, pop tarts, coffee for supper.
60 miles
6:45 moving
8.7 mph average
Frisco highline trail tomorrow (35+ miles).
Almost there!
Jeff

Day Eight: 59 miles in 8 hours, 7 minutes = 7.3 mph.

Spent: $1.70 (orange juice) + $58.03 plus $12 tip (motel) = $71.73.

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 503 miles (810 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0