Day 6 - Destination: New Franklin, Missouri - To Surprise Laurie - CycleBlaze

May 23, 2009

Day 6 - Destination: New Franklin, Missouri

rode on Katy Trail

Day 6 - Tebbetts, MO to New Franklin, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

Got up at 5:45am, brewed some coffee I found among the shelter's food supplies using a two-cup maker, and went outside to enjoy the morning. I got a wave from the Mayor next door, who had also stepped outside.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Here's Jim's Bar & Grill across the side street northeast from the shelter.

Heart 1 Comment 0

While outside, a cyclist on a 'Long Haul Trucker' rode up asking if the place was open, since he needed to fill his water bottle. We talked awhile about his bike before he rode off. The Long Haul Trucker is the bike Loren at work owns.

Back inside I sat down to my 'breakfast of champions', as Jim had put it last night.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I filled out the shelter's logbook, and the fee slip for the night's stay. The instructions indicated that the envelope with the fee and slip could be placed in the local mailbox without a stamp. It was a short walk - the post office is next-door to Jim's place (see picture above).

Got the bike packed up, took a better picture of the shelter, and returned the key to the pole.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I drank a Powerade from the machine on the porch and then left at 8:50am.

Here's another trail-crosser, who I let make his own way across.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 10:12am I could see the capitol building across the river in Jefferson City. Just before this I gave my father-in-law a phone call to tell about being out of BlackBerry cell tower range last night. It was nice to hear about happenings back home.

Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a lot of interesting reading along here.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

More cliffs, and later a place to take a break.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Saw some canoeists float by.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 12:25pm I stopped at Dotty's Cafe in Hartsburg for lunch: country fried steak dinner, lemonade (with lots of refills), and cobbler with ice cream.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was done with lunch at 1:30pm, and back on the trail. Later in the afternoon I passed a gentleman who was walking in the same direction I was going. And he wasn't going too much slower than me! I was getting sleepy-tired, and wondered if I could half-sleep while riding. Having passed a bench a while back, I decided that if I saw another one in the shade, I'd stop for a nap. Shortly thereafter, at 3:37pm, I came across the perfect spot, with a river view too!

Heart 1 Comment 0

I was almost asleep when some bicyclists passed by. A short time later I heard a fading child's voice say, "That man back there looked like he was dead." I was 'dead' for 25 minutes, and it sure did me good.

Met up again with the walking gentleman, and stopped to talk a bit. He showed me a spot in the river's backwater where catfish like to stay. I'm sure when you're walking (and awake) you notice more.

Some of the best cliff scenery is in this area approaching Rocheport.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived in Rocheport at 5:25pm, and stopped at the Trailside Cafe for a root beer float. There were a lot of people around, and it looked like I'd just missed a live music event outside the place.

At 5:46pm I was on my way, heading for the most noted spot on the trail - the tunnel.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

This tile block elevator provided an interesting spot for a break at 6:35pm.

Heart 1 Comment 0

This poor tree. The wind is slowly chopping it in two against the roof overhang.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's the elevator in the west sunlight (looking behind).

Heart 1 Comment 0

At 7:12pm, I arrived at the New Franklin trailhead. There were three cyclists there. One asked about my bike and my trip. He and his friends were taking part in the Pedaler's Jamboree. Actually, they were helping the organizer of the event, by following at the rear to help anyone who fell behind due to bike problems. The Pedaler's Jamboree was a two-day biking/camping event from Columbia to Boonville and back, with live band entertainment at several locations along the way. The cyclist I'd been talking with begged me to join them at Boonville (promised I could get in for free and camp for free). I think he was intrigued that I was doing my trip on a 'work bike', as he called it. He encouraged, "It's just three more miles." I'd been bicycling long enough by now to know you shouldn't put the word 'just' in front of 'three more miles'! I could have made it, but had reservations at the Katy Roundhouse Campground, and was looking forward to getting to bed early. I thanked him. I'm sure it would have been fun.

I checked the trailhead board to find the location of the campground, which turned out to be just around the bend. There apparently had been live music there also. I had to ask a camper about how to check-in. I parked my bike at campsite #9 and walked back across the trail to self-register. When I got back, the daughter of the family camping at site #8 walked over and invited me to join her family for supper. That was totally unexpected! They had hot dogs with fixings, chips and fruit. I roasted a hot dog and had chips and sweet tea. When I was telling them about my trip and the planned rest of the journey, I was pronouncing the name of the town Bolivar so wrong that only the wife was able to figure out what I was trying to say. They asked how many miles I'd done so far, but I hadn't added them up. It was great having supper with them, and they were so kind, but I needed to get my tent set up.

After setting up the tent, I took a shower in another very clean shower house. Outside the shower house, sitting on the backrest of a bench, was this fellow. There were several around. (I just noticed this fellow has his eye on a bug on the wall.)

Heart 0 Comment 0

Subject: Day six - no picture
Date: Saturday, 5-23-2009 10:59 PM
Up at 5:45am. Talked to biker who needed water from 'my house'. Ate leftover pizza and coffee for breakfast. Left at 8:50am.
12:45pm lunch at dotty's in hartsburg.
1:30pm back on trail.
3:30pm to 4:00pm: nap on trail bench.
5:30pm rootbeer float in rocheport.
7:30pm at katy roundhouse site #9. Had hot dog, chips, and sweet tea at site next door.
56 miles
7:02 on bike moving
7.9 average moving speed
Had shower. Good night.
Jeff

Day Six: 59 miles in 10 hours, 40 minutes = 5.5 mph (includes napping time).

Spent: $1.25 (Powerade) + $15.11 plus $3 tip (lunch) + $4.55 (root beer float) + $6.00 (campsite fee) = $29.91.

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 365 miles (587 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0