Day 5 - Destination: Tebbetts, Missouri - To Surprise Laurie - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2009

Day 5 - Destination: Tebbetts, Missouri

rode on Katy Trail

Day 5 - Augusta, MO to Tebbetts, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 6:00am after sleeping well, perhaps due partly to the white-noise hum from a power plant directly south across the river.

Checked the BlackBerry and found an email from my father-in-law. News from home!

I took a shower in, what is said, the best shower house on the Katy Trail. It was roomy and clean. Soon thereafter I had to reapply bug spray.

The morning light showed the hit my front basket took yesterday when I crashed. It also showed the dust that was collecting from the trail.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's a picture of my 'basic' campsite, which came with a covered picnic table.

Heart 0 Comment 0

As I was getting ready to eat breakfast, the park ranger (on a bicycle) stopped by. He asked if I'd be around awhile, because he wanted to talk, but first wanted to ride a ways on the trail with two girls who had camped last night here and were bicycling across the country, east to west.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was a little more packed up when the ranger returned. He knew where Peoria was, having previously worked for Peoria County. He visited longer than I thought he would, considering he didn't have bug spray on.

Thinking ahead a little (finally), I realized that I might need reservations for camping Saturday evening, since it was during the holiday weekend. I called the Katy Roundhouse Campground in New Franklin and got a tent campsite reserved. Now I just needed to be there then!

A camper at site B2 offered me his leftover brats and chips, since he was heading to work, but I didn't have a fire going, so we figured that wouldn't work.

I was the last one in the park, and packing the bike, when a grade school-aged boy and two women, who had reserved campsite B8 for the weekend, arrived for an early start on their weekend of camping and fishing. They gave me a bottle of ice cold water they said was 'extra'. It was so good! At 9:54am I finally left for the trail.

There were cliffs along the north side of the trail.

Heart 0 Comment 0

A Katy Trail ranger pickup truck was coming down the trail, so I helped this fellow to the shoulder.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Farmed bottomland was to the left of the trail.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'd lost my case of bandages yesterday, apparently at the crash site after using them. My homemade bandage was holding up pretty well.

Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a lot of information at the trailheads. I just didn't have time to read it all.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 11:28am, I stopped at Dutzow Deli and Restaurant for lunch. I had Joe's Special Sandwich, which was sort of like a Reuben with bacon (my description), a Pepsi, and ice cream for dessert.

I was done with lunch at 12:15pm. At 1:00pm, I went a short ways off the trail in Marthasville to the S&R Convenience Center for a large Gatorade, returning to the town's park to enjoy it.

Here's a picture of their old depot (with a newer roof). I read that its restoration will be Marthasville's next project. (Note: the bike is pointed in the opposite direction of how I was going - I decided to get the picture after I'd ridden by.)

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's a picture of the Missouri River right next to the trail. (I was looking backwards for this picture, too.)

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'd read on one of the trailhead information boards that these signs provide information for river boat traffic.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Lots of bridges on the trail. Here's a typical one.

Heart 1 Comment 0

After reading this sign, I figured the Callaway power plant must be nuclear.

Heart 0 Comment 0

There's a rock on the north side of the trail that has flood high-water marks on it. I got a quick picture.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 4:50pm, I stopped in McKittrick for a 7-up from a nearby soda machine. I kept wondering if I could make it to Tebbetts, and the Turner Katy Trail Shelter there, before nightfall. And if not, where would I stay? Anyway, I pushed on. Somewhere before sunset, I noticed these slow-moving clouds, and how quiet the evening was. Made me wish I was sitting on a south-facing porch, drinking a lemonade and watching the evening slowly drift by.

Heart 1 Comment 0

It was taking forever, but I finally rolled into Tebbetts at 8:30pm. Found the Turner Shelter, and the key on the utility pole. I had trouble getting the door open, partly due to a stray wire on the key ring that kept poking me in the thumb, and partly because it's a 'push door', not a 'pull door'.

Heart 0 Comment 0

No one was there! And it was Friday night of Memorial Day weekend! I read the house rules, checked the place out, and unpacked.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided to go next door to Jim's Bar & Grill to see it I could get something to eat before they closed. Jim offered to heat me up a 'made in Missouri' frozen pizza. That sounded good, but I told him I probably couldn't eat it all. He said I could save what was left for breakfast. That was an idea - there was a refrigerator and microwave at the shelter. So I ate half a pizza while listening to karaoke by Jim and some patrons. Jim let me sign the bicyclist logbook he keeps, which had many interesting entries. One lady there, who Jim kept calling the 'Mayor', lives next door to the shelter. She told me her dogs keep a good watch, so I didn't need to worry and could get a good night's sleep. I heard that some Missouri state legislators patronize Jim's place, because it's close to Jefferson City and a fun place to relax. Apparently, it's the legislators who have given the lady her title as Mayor of Tebbetts. I would have enjoyed staying longer, but needed a shower and some sleep.

After the shower I decided to fix the shelter's key ring, since I had wire cutters and tie wraps. I also rigged up the charger for the bike's battery, and plugged in the BlackBerry. It was getting later than I realized, so I headed to bed.

Tried sending this email message out several times (even from the upstairs room), but apparently I was out of cell tower range. I did get it forwarded the following morning on the trail closer to Jefferson City.

Subject: Day five - a $5 night
Date: Saturday, 5-23-2009 10:21 AM
------Original Message------
Subject: Day five - a $5 night
Sent: May 23, 2009 1:11 AM
------Original Message------
Subject: Day five - a $5 night
Sent: May 23, 2009 1:07 AM
Up at 6am. Showered and waited for tent to dry.
Talked to park ranger (who was on bicycle).
Left at 9:54am.
11:30am lunch at dutzow ($10.17).
8:30pm arrived at turner shelter in tebbetts.
I have the place to myself.
Went next door to jim's. He cooked a frozen pizza for me. I ate half and put the other half in frig for breakfast.
67 miles
Moving 7:46
Moving average 8.2mph
Have reservation tomorrow at katy roundhouse in new franklin
Jeff

Day Five: 69 miles in 10 hours, 36 minutes, from start to finish = 6.5 mph.

Spent: $10.17 plus $2 tip (lunch) + $2.00 (Gatorade) + $1.00 (7-up) + $14.00 (supper at Jim's) + $5.00 plus $15 donation (shelter fee) = $49.17.

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 306 miles (492 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0